Salt to the Sea Salt to the Sea

Salt to the Sea

    • 4.6 • 647 Ratings
    • $9.99
    • $9.99

Publisher Description

New York Times Bestseller and winner of the Carnegie Medal! "Masterfully crafted"The Wall Street Journal

For readers of Between Shades of Gray and All the Light We Cannot See, Ruta Sepetys returns to WWII in this epic novel that shines a light on one of the war's most devastating—yet unknown—tragedies.

World War II is drawing to a close in East Prussia and thousands of refugees are on a desperate trek toward freedom, many with something to hide. Among them are Joana, Emilia, and Florian, whose paths converge en route to the ship that promises salvation, the Wilhelm Gustloff. Forced by circumstance to unite, the three find their strength, courage, and trust in each other tested with each step closer to safety.

Just when it seems freedom is within their grasp, tragedy strikes. Not country, nor culture, nor status matter as all ten thousand people—adults and children alike—aboard must fight for the same thing: survival.

Told in alternating points of view and perfect for fans of Anthony Doerr's Pulitzer Prize-winning All the Light We Cannot See, Erik Larson's Dead Wake, and Elizabeth Wein's Printz Honor Book Code Name Verity, this masterful work of historical fiction is inspired by the real-life tragedy that was the sinking of the Wilhelm Gustloffthe greatest maritime disaster in history. As she did in Between Shades of Gray, Ruta Sepetys unearths a shockingly little-known casualty of a gruesome war, and proves that humanity and love can prevail, even in the darkest of hours.

Praise for Salt to the Sea:

Featured on NPR's Morning Edition  ♦  "Superlative...masterfully crafted...[a] powerful work of historical fiction."—The Wall Street Journal  ♦  "[Sepetys is] a master of YA fiction…she once again anchors a panoramic view of epic tragedy in perspectives that feel deeply textured and immediate."—Entertainment Weekly  ♦  "Riveting...powerful...haunting."—The Washington Post  ♦ "Compelling for both adult and teenage readers."—New York Times Book Review  ♦  "Intimate, extraordinary, artfully crafted...brilliant."—Shelf Awareness  ♦  "Historical fiction at its very, very best."—The Globe and Mail  ♦  "[H]aunting, heartbreaking, hopeful and altogether gorgeous...one of the best young-adult novels to appear in a very long time."—Salt Lake Tribune  ♦  *"This haunting gem of a novel begs to be remembered."—Booklist  ♦  *"Artfully told and sensitively crafted...will leave readers weeping."—School Library Journal  ♦  A PW and SLJ 2016 Book of the Year

Praise for Between Shades of Gray:
A New York Times Notable Book  ♦  A Wall Street Journal Best Children’s Book  ♦  A PWSLJ, Booklist, and Kirkus Best Book  ♦  iTunes 2011 Rewind Best Teen Novel  ♦  A Carnegie Medal and William C. Morris Finalist  ♦  A New York Times and International Bestseller  ♦  "Few books are beautifully written, fewer still are important; this novel is both."—The Washington Post  ♦  *"[A]n important book that deserves the widest possible readership."—Booklist

GENRE
Young Adult
RELEASED
2016
February 2
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
400
Pages
PUBLISHER
Penguin Young Readers Group
SELLER
PENGUIN GROUP USA, INC.
SIZE
7.9
MB

Customer Reviews

ccy1991 ,

Speechless

As a current Soldier in the Army, I am blown away that I had never heard of this historical event. Aside from that, it is very rare that I connect with characters in such a deep way that I am genuinely saddened and, in this case, brought to tears by the outcome. This is, in my opinion, the best book I've ever read.

itzxangiie ,

best book i’ve ever read.

This book was SO well written and i literally cried every time i felt the emotion through the pages!

GWYNEDD READER ,

Salt to the Sea

Very engaging book. So much tragedy during the War. Never heard or read about this.

More Books Like This

Ashes in the Snow (Movie Tie-In) Ashes in the Snow (Movie Tie-In)
2018
Between Shades of Gray Between Shades of Gray
2011
The Boundless The Boundless
2020
Rebel Spy Rebel Spy
2020
Dearly, Departed: A Zombie Novel Dearly, Departed: A Zombie Novel
2011
Dance of Thieves Dance of Thieves
2018

More Books by Ruta Sepetys

Between Shades of Gray Between Shades of Gray
2011
Out of The Easy Out of The Easy
2013
The Fountains of Silence The Fountains of Silence
2019
I Must Betray You I Must Betray You
2022
Ashes in the Snow (Movie Tie-In) Ashes in the Snow (Movie Tie-In)
2018
Entre tonos de gris Entre tonos de gris
2011

Customers Also Bought

The Forest of Vanishing Stars The Forest of Vanishing Stars
2021
The Nature of Fragile Things The Nature of Fragile Things
2021
Only the Beautiful Only the Beautiful
2023
The Exiles The Exiles
2020
The Last Year of the War The Last Year of the War
2019
The Warsaw Orphan The Warsaw Orphan
2021