• $3.99

Publisher Description

An attempt on the King's life draws Hugh Corbett into a deadly investigation...

In Satan's Fire, the ninth Hugh Corbett mystery from Paul Doherty, strange fires and gruesome murders test the sleuth's investigative ingenuity to the full. Perfect for fans of Ellis Peters and Robin Hobb.


1303 and the Old Man of the Mountain remembers back to when he nearly killed Edward I thirty years before. He now decides to release an imprisoned leper knight to avenge old grievances and take the King's life. A few months later, two nuns are returning to their monastery in York, where they are confronted by the horrific sight of a man hungrily being consumed by fire, the sickly smell of burning flesh lingering in the air. News of the grisly death greets Edward as he arrives in York for secret negotiations with the leaders of the military Templar Order. His unease deepens when an attempt is made on his life. When the assassin, wearing Templar livery, is found dead - having been engulfed by a mysterious fire - Edward immediately turns to his Keeper of the Secret Seal, Hugh Corbett, to investigate.

What readers are saying about Paul Doherty:
'Good plots, clever twists and mostly impossible to work out'
'Paul Doherty's depictions of medieval England are truly outstanding'
'Another brilliant story in the excellent Hugh Corbett series by a superb historical author'

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2012
October 30
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
199
Pages
PUBLISHER
Headline
SELLER
Hachette Digital, Inc.
SIZE
1.4
MB

More Books by Paul Doherty