• $1.99

Publisher Description

The Peninsular Wars may have ended more than a year ago, but they're not over for Colonel Jack Prescott. Cursed with perfect recall, Jack can remember the names and see the faces of every man he sent into battle, hear their dying howls of agony, and taste the bitter flavor of their fear. Awake or asleep, he can't escape the twisted, violent images or his remote for having knowingly condemned foo many soldiers to certain death. That is, until he chances upon perhaps the one woman who can accept him without judgment or condemnation.

'Tis pity she's a whore.

NOTE: This novella was originally published by Kensington Books in 2009 in the anthology titled Behind the Red Door.

August 15
Circe Press
V Michael Fraire

Customer Reviews

tryyyggg ,


Definitely a new twist but very good and sexual content was great he was so loving and open with his issues you could not help liking him than loving him

Gallowaygirly ,

Love found in an unusual place

Enjoyed the story. Jack is having trouble sleeping after having resigned his commission because of his ability to remember all of the soldiers that died under his command. Because of his having trouble sleeping at night, he goes to the Red Door and hires a prostitute for one week, day and night. The story is how he fell in love with Callie and asked her to marry him before the week was up. When his older brother is killed in a duel, he inherits the title of Earl of Innesford and things change. There is a HEA but there are issues that they will have to deal with in regards to his new title and her prior occupation. The relationship between Jack and Callie is highly erotic and endearing. The story is a fairly quick read and I would highly recommend it

Latrinaj ,


This is the third book of the “ever after” series and I couldn’t wait.

Ms. Barbosa is wonderful in the writing of the characters, the plot was wonderful, even the appearance of past characters was a twist.

Jack and Callie are the “it” victorian couple.

Good job Ms. Barbosa, this book was worth the wait!!!

More Books by Jackie Barbosa

Other Books in This Series