• $5.99

Publisher Description

Fear is natural.

But not for me. I was designed not to feel emotion. It kept me controlled. It made me a monster.

Until I got a taste of what I was missing.

Tortured and plagued by my bloody past, I can't let anyone in. They don't want to see the monster lurking inside. The darkness that gnaws at my mind, threatening to consume me.

But the past has a way of creeping in when you least expect.

When that happens, I find myself turning to the infuriating dragon I've sworn to keep at a distance. But as my secrets spill from the shadows, I don't know if I'm prepared to pay the price my confessions will demand.



Destiny (#1)

Pieces (#2)

Secrets (#3)

Exposed (#4)

Surrendered (#5)

Reborn (#6)


Note: Like all of Shannon Pemrick's work, the Experimental Heart series contains strong language, violence, substance use, love scenes, and difficult situations.

Sci-Fi & Fantasy
January 18
Shannon Pemrick
Draft2Digital, LLC

Customer Reviews

cass_lomont ,


Read all 4 of this series in a week. DYING for the next one!

F. P. Spirit ,

Things get serious…

Secrets takes up where Pieces left off. A swirl of intriguing circumstances and unexpected events surround the main protagonist, Eira, forcing her to grow despite herself.

Dragons and Shamans from outside the city have chosen to support the rebellion, making Eira their ambassador—a position that turns out difficult to fill. At the same time Eira must deal with her past as an assassin—a past where she was forced to kill innocents. Further, secrets are revealed about her past involving her mother, father, and the tyrant Zarda who is bent on world domination. Finally, in the midst of all this, Eira must learn to deal with her growing relationship with the shape-shifting dragon, Raikidan.

As is typical with this series, there are plenty of twists and turns. There are numerous supporting characters, each with their own stories and demons to face. Note that these are character driven novels—they focus on relationships and character interaction. There is an overall plot, but it provides more of a backdrop to the individual characters’ growth.

Overall, Secrets is a good edition to the series. It pushes the characters out of their comfort zone and forces them to grow to both face their past and meet new challenges along the way. If you have read the other installments in the series, you will not be disappointed.

Booksbooksandmorebooks ,

The grammar!

Nothing can ruin a book faster than an annoying grammatical error repeated over and over....and over. Anyway is an adverb; therefore, cannot be plural. "Anyways" was repeated so often throughout the book, I couldn't finish reading it. I have read a ridiculous amount of terrible books cover to cover simply because I have to see how it ends; or maybe, it more like staring at a train wreck....
Well, you can imagine how irritated I was to put it down."Anyways" wasn't the only grammatical mistake, it was just the most repeated and annoying.

More Books by Shannon Pemrick

Other Books in This Series