Seed to Dust Seed to Dust

Seed to Dust

Life, Nature, and a Country Garden

    • 3.5 • 2 Ratings
    • $9.99
    • $9.99

Publisher Description

For readers of Late Migrations and H is for Hawk

A stunning meditation on gardening and the wisdom of plants, " that rare book that will appeal to nonfiction readers everywhere. . . Candid, tender, thoughtful and absorbing."—Shelf Awareness (STARRED Review)

"With chapters. . . [that] shimmer like lantern slides, lit with luminous imagery. . . Seed to Dust is an invitation to read this world as Mr. Hamer does—with a close eye to what changes, and what does not."—The Wall Street Journal

Marc Hamer has nurtured the same 12-acre garden in the Welsh countryside for over two decades. The garden is vast and intricate. It’s rarely visited, and only Hamer knows of its secrets. But it’s not his garden. It belongs to his wealthy and elegant employer, Miss Cashmere. But the garden does not really belong to her, either. As Hamer writes, "Like a book, a garden belongs to everyone who sees it."

In Seed to Dust, Marc Hamer paints a beautiful portrait of the garden that "belongs to everyone." He describes a year in his life as a country gardener, with each chapter named for the month he’s in. As he works, he muses on the unusual folklores of his beloved plants. He observes the creatures who scurry and hide from his blade or rake. And he reflects on his own life: living homeless as a young man, his loving relationship with his wife and children, and—now—feeling the effects of old age on body and mind.

As the seasons change, Hamer also reflects on the changes he has observed in Miss Cashmere’s life from afar: the death of her husband and the departure of her children from the stately home where she now lives alone. At the book’s end, Hamer’s connection to Miss Cashmere changes shape, and new insights into relationships and the beauty and brutality of nature emerge.

Just like all good books and gardens, Seed to Dust is filled with equal parts life and death, beauty and decay, and every reader will find something different to admire.

GENRE
Biographies & Memoirs
RELEASED
2021
May 4
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
416
Pages
PUBLISHER
Greystone Books
SELLER
Perseus Books, LLC
SIZE
12.4
MB

More Books Like This

The Backyard Parables The Backyard Parables
2013
How to Catch a Mole How to Catch a Mole
2019
My Year Without Matches My Year Without Matches
2014
The Space Between the Stars The Space Between the Stars
2022
And I Shall Have Some Peace There And I Shall Have Some Peace There
2011
The Journals of May Sarton Volume One The Journals of May Sarton Volume One
2017

More Books by Marc Hamer

Spring Rain Spring Rain
2023
How to Catch a Mole How to Catch a Mole
2019
Come acchiappare una talpa. E ritrovare se stessi nella natura Come acchiappare una talpa. E ritrovare se stessi nella natura
2022
Wie man einen Maulwurf fängt Wie man einen Maulwurf fängt
2019
Cómo cazar un topo Cómo cazar un topo
2020

Customers Also Bought

Richer, Wiser, Happier Richer, Wiser, Happier
2021
A Town Called Solace A Town Called Solace
2021
The Rabbit Hutch The Rabbit Hutch
2022
Facing the Mountain Facing the Mountain
2021
Snow Snow
2020
Five Little Indians Five Little Indians
2020