Publisher Description

“I won’t have her forced,” Jack said. “Let her decide for herself.”

Amy knew her father meant it. She could say no if she wanted. But this marriage would make everything all right. They could put all the trouble she had caused behind them. Everyone would be happy again.

Everyone except her.

“Sentence of Marriage” is the first book in the three-volume “Promises to Keep”.

In nineteenth century New Zealand, there are few choices for a farm girl like Amy. Her life seems mapped out for her by the time she is twelve. Amy dreams of an exciting life in the world beyond her narrow boundaries. But it is the two people who come to the farm from outside the valley who change her life forever, and Amy learns the high cost of making the wrong choice.

"One of the best historical novels I’ve had the pleasure to read in years." - WorkingGirl Reviews.

"The story was captivating, the characters real, the dialogue crisp. I admit to having cried and laughed and even having wanted to murder a character and beat another one within an inch of his life — which is simply a testament to how well written these books are." - AmericanEditor.

Fiction & Literature
March 8
Shayne Parkinson
Smashwords, Inc.

Customer Reviews

shanalaya ,

Sentence of marriage

Engaging, interesting characters brought to life by the author. I felt all the emotions going on in a genuine way.

aentarra ,

Sentence of Marriage

I purchased all four books after this one because it gets better and better!
Sentence of Marriage is the base of a wonderful saga. Character development is excellent! Excellent eye for detail. Wonderful history for women to remember.

It was to be my weekend read and I couldn't stop at the first book. I'm so glad I didn't. It real and it's history. I finished all four as quickly as I can. This series will be one of the most enjoyable of my life. Perked my interest to study this time period, the development of education and women's rights.

DG Whit ,

Sentence of Marriage Book #1

I loved this book.

More Books by Shayne Parkinson

Other Books in This Series