• $11.99

Publisher Description

“In this, her third novel, Kim Izzo renders the last voyage of the Lusitania in such terrifyingly accurate detail that we readers cannot help but feel we too are aboard that doomed ship—and in Winston Churchill’s ultra-secret lair, Room 40—as the ineluctable forces of history converge.”
   — Erik Larson, bestselling author of The Splendid and the Vile

For readers of Kate Williams, Beatriz Williams and Jennifer Robson, a captivating novel of love and resilience during the Great War, inspired by the author’s family history.

As the First World War rages in continental Europe, two New York heiresses, Sydney and Brooke Sinclair, are due to set sail for England. Brooke is engaged to marry impoverished aristocrat Edward Thorpe-Tracey, the future Lord Northbrook, in the wedding of the social calendar. Sydney has other adventures in mind; she is drawn to the burgeoning suffragette movement, which is a constant source of embarrassment to her proper sister. As international tempers flare, the German embassy releases a warning that any ships making the Atlantic crossing are at risk. Undaunted, Sydney and Brooke board the Lusitania for the seven-day voyage with Edward, not knowing that disaster lies ahead.

In London, Isabel Nelson, a young woman grateful to have escaped her blemished reputation in Oxford, has found employment at the British Admiralty in the mysterious Room 40. While she begins as a secretary, it isn’t long before her skills in codes and cyphers are called on, and she learns a devastating truth and the true cost of war.

As the days of the voyage pass, these four lives collide in a struggle for survival as the Lusitania meets its deadly fate.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2017
April 25
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
368
Pages
PUBLISHER
HarperCollins Publishers
SELLER
HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS
SIZE
1.6
MB

Customer Reviews

Summer of live ,

Seven Days in May

Loved it!

OliJsGramma ,

Fascinating history

This book immediately grabs the reader and places them in the story as it progresses.
Telling the story from each character’s point of view keeps the reader turning the pages to find out more.
A haunted telling of a horrific tragedy, the events stay with you long after the last page is read.

catlvr49 ,

Seven Days in May

Absolutely fabulous.

More Books by Kim Izzo