• $9.99

Publisher Description

“Only by living at the edge of death can you understand the indescribable joy of life.”

After Englishman John Blackthorne is lost at sea, he awakens in a place few Europeans know of and even fewer have seen—Nippon. Thrust into the closed society that is late sixteenth-century Japan, a land where the line between life and death is razor-thin, Blackthorne must negotiate not only a foreign people, with unknown customs and language, but also his own definitions of morality, truth, and freedom. As internal political strife and a clash of cultures lead to seemingly inevitable conflict, Blackthorne’s loyalty and strength of character are tested by both passion and loss, and he is torn between two worlds that will each be forever changed.

Powerful and engrossing, capturing both the rich pageantry and stark realities of life in feudal Japan, Shōgun is a critically acclaimed powerhouse of a book. Heart-stopping, edge-of-your-seat action melds seamlessly with intricate historical detail and raw human emotion. Endlessly compelling, this sweeping saga captivated the world to become not only one of the bestselling novels of all time but also one of the highest-rated television miniseries, as well as inspiring a nationwide surge of interest in the culture of Japan. Shakespearean in both scope and depth, Shōgun is, as the New York Times put it, “…not only something you read—you live it.” Provocative, absorbing, and endlessly fascinating, there is only one: Shōgun.

Fiction & Literature
January 27
Blackstone Publishing
Blackstone Audio, Inc.

Customer Reviews

Johnporch1 ,

My favorite book ever

I read this book years ago, but this is still my favorite book all these years later. Epic plot, great characters, touching love story, and NINJAS. I cannot recommend this book enough.

XxMoonchaserxX ,

Best book, worst format

There are no breaks between sections, which is very disconcerting. There are also a lot of typos, which I don’t remember from the print editions.

More Books by James Clavell

Other Books in This Series