Shadow Child Shadow Child

Shadow Child

    • 3.9 • 9 Ratings
    • $13.99
    • $13.99

Publisher Description

For fans of Tayari Jones and Ruth Ozeki, from National Book Critics Circle Award finalist Rizzuto comes a haunting and suspenseful literary tale set in 1970s New York City and World War II-era Japan, about three strong women, the dangerous ties of family and identity, and the long shadow our histories can cast.

Twin sisters Hana and Kei grew up in a tiny Hawaiian town in the 1950s and 1960s, so close they shared the same nickname. Raised in dreamlike isolation by their loving but unstable mother, they were fatherless, mixed-race, and utterly inseparable, devoted to one another. But when their cherished threesome with Mama is broken, and then further shattered by a violent, nearly fatal betrayal that neither young woman can forgive, it seems their bond may be severed forever--until, six years later, Kei arrives on Hana's lonely Manhattan doorstep with a secret that will change everything.

Told in interwoven narratives that glide seamlessly between the gritty streets of New York, the lush and dangerous landscape of Hawaii, and the horrors of the Japanese internment camps and the bombing of Hiroshima, Shadow Child is set against an epic sweep of history. Volcanos, tsunamis, abandonment, racism, and war form the urgent, unforgettable backdrop of this intimate, evocative, and deeply moving story of motherhood, sisterhood, and second chances.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2018
May 8
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
368
Pages
PUBLISHER
Grand Central Publishing
SELLER
Hachette Digital, Inc.
SIZE
2.6
MB

More Books Like This

The Damned The Damned
2015
The Frangipani Hotel The Frangipani Hotel
2014
The O. Henry Prize Stories 100th Anniversary Edition (2019) The O. Henry Prize Stories 100th Anniversary Edition (2019)
2019
I Am Heathcliff I Am Heathcliff
2018
Buzz Books 2018: Spring/Summer Buzz Books 2018: Spring/Summer
2018
Saint X Saint X
2020

More Books by Rahna Reiko Rizzuto

Customers Also Bought

Mambo in Chinatown Mambo in Chinatown
2014
Everything Here Is Beautiful Everything Here Is Beautiful
2018
The Color of Air The Color of Air
2020
Family Trust Family Trust
2018
White Chrysanthemum White Chrysanthemum
2018
Be Frank With Me Be Frank With Me
2016