Shadow Play Shadow Play
Book 19 - Eve Duncan

Shadow Play

An Eve Duncan Novel

    • 4.5 • 227 Ratings
    • $8.99
    • $8.99

Publisher Description

Shadow Play is a New York Times bestselling Eve Duncan novel from Iris Johansen.

Eve Duncan is the most sought-after artist in the field of forensic sculpting. Dedicated to her work ever since her daughter Bonnie was taken and killed at the age of seven, Eve feels a sense of duty to those whose lives were lost and whose bones are now in her hands.

When a sheriff in California contacts her with a request for help on the reconstruction of the skull of a nine-year-old girl whose body has been buried for eight years, his intensity and investment in the case puzzle her. But when the ghost of the girl begins communicating with her, Eve finds herself wrapped up in the case more intensely than she could have ever imagined. Not since Bonnie has Eve had such an experience, and suddenly she finds herself determined to solve the murder and help the little girl find peace.

Except that the killer is still out there, and he knows Eve is on the case. And he won't rest until anything and anyone that could reveal his identity is eliminated…

Mysteries & Thrillers
September 29
St. Martin's Publishing Group

Customer Reviews

JDom12 ,

Love this series!

Good read!

Qab854 ,

Shadow Play

A skull is discovered after being buried for eight years. The skull is sent to Eve Duncan from Sheriff Nalchek in California. The killer is in the crowd when they are getting the skull out. Suspenseful thriller that had me on the edge of my seat trying to find out if Eve, Joe, Margaret and Nalchek would find Jenny's killer before he killed again.

Kris Anderson, The Avid Reader ,

Engaging Novel!

Shadow Play by Iris Johansen is the nineteenth book in the Eve Duncan series (wow!). Eve Duncan, a forensic sculptor, receives a call from Sheriff John Nalchek (from Sonderville, California) asking Eve to do a reconstruction for him. They just found the body of a nine-year-old little girl. She has been buried for about eight years. He would like Eve to put the little girl ahead of her other cases. Eve understands because of the loss of her daughter, Bonnie. Eve agrees and starts work on the skull when she receives it. For some reason, Eve feels drawn to this skull and then she starts hearing the little girls voice (Eve calls her Jenny). The girls spirit is still around (this has not happened with any other reconstruction since Bonnie). She does not know why (yet). But someone does not want Eve to complete the reconstruction. The killer is watching. When the reconstruction, note, and photos are all stolen, Eve and her significant other, Joe Quinn (a police officer) head to California. They insist on helping the sheriff with his case. Eve cannot let this case go. The killer is keeping a close eye because he does not wish to be caught. Can Eve catch the killer and help Jenny move on?

Shadow Play can be read as a stand-alone book, but it would help if you read the other books in the series (to understand Eve, the relationships, etc.). I enjoyed Shadow Play, but I felt it went on a little too long. I liked the paranormal element, but it was not used enough in the story (found it a little lacking). The book is well-written and engaging. You keep reading to find out what happens next. It just got a little slow in the middle (it was just too long). I give Shadow Play 4 out of 5 stars (I liked it). I will definitely be reading more of Iris Johansen’s books.

I received a complimentary copy of Shadow Play in exchange for an honest review.

More Books Like This

Pandora's Daughter Pandora's Daughter
Vendetta Vendetta
A View to a Kill A View to a Kill
No Secrets No Secrets
The Other Side The Other Side
Ready or Not Ready or Not

More Books by Iris Johansen

Bonnie Bonnie
What Doesn't Kill You What Doesn't Kill You
Eve Eve
Taking Eve Taking Eve
Quinn Quinn
Chasing the Night Chasing the Night

Customers Also Bought

If I Should Die (with bonus novella Love Is Murder) If I Should Die (with bonus novella Love Is Murder)
Best Laid Plans Best Laid Plans
Stolen Stolen
No Good Deed No Good Deed
Breaking Point Breaking Point
Stalked Stalked

Other Books in This Series

Hide Away Hide Away
Night and Day Night and Day
Mind Game Mind Game
Shattered Mirror Shattered Mirror
Dark Tribute Dark Tribute
Smokescreen Smokescreen