She-Wolves

The Women Who Ruled England Before Elizabeth

    • 3.7 • 22 Ratings
    • $12.99
    • $12.99

Publisher Description

“Helen Castor has an exhilarating narrative gift. . . . Readers will love this book, finding it wholly absorbing and rewarding.” —Hilary Mantel, Booker Prize-winning author of Wolf Hall 

In the tradition of Antonia Fraser, David Starkey, and Alison Weir, prize-winning historian Helen Castor delivers a compelling, eye-opening examination of women and power in England, witnessed through the lives of six women who exercised power against all odds—and one who never got the chance. Exploring the narratives of the Empress Matilda, Eleanor of Aquitaine, Isabella of France, Margaret of Anjou, and other “she-wolves,” as well as that of the Nine Days' Queen, Lady Jane Grey, Castor invokes a magisterial discussion of how much—and how little—has changed through the centuries. 

GENRE
History
RELEASED
2011
February 22
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
496
Pages
PUBLISHER
HarperCollins e-books
SELLER
HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS
SIZE
20.4
MB

Customer Reviews

puyi2001 ,

Very good

Very well written, I highly recommend it.

More Books by Helen Castor

2015
2018
2018
2015
2015

Customers Also Bought

2000
2017
2005
2017
2014
2009