Sleeping Giants

Book 1 of The Themis Files

    • 4.2 • 771 Ratings
    • $3.99
    • $3.99

Publisher Description

A page-turning debut in the tradition of Michael Crichton, World War Z, and The Martian, Sleeping Giants is a thriller fueled by an earthshaking mystery—and a fight to control a gargantuan power.
 
A girl named Rose is riding her new bike near her home in Deadwood, South Dakota, when she falls through the earth. She wakes up at the bottom of a square hole, its walls glowing with intricate carvings. But the firemen who come to save her peer down upon something even stranger: a little girl in the palm of a giant metal hand.
 
Seventeen years later, the mystery of the bizarre artifact remains unsolved—its origins, architects, and purpose unknown. Its carbon dating defies belief; military reports are redacted; theories are floated, then rejected.
 
But some can never stop searching for answers.
 
Rose Franklin is now a highly trained physicist leading a top secret team to crack the hand’s code. And along with her colleagues, she is being interviewed by a nameless interrogator whose power and purview are as enigmatic as the provenance of the relic. What’s clear is that Rose and her compatriots are on the edge of unraveling history’s most perplexing discovery—and figuring out what it portends for humanity. But once the pieces of the puzzle are in place, will the result prove to be an instrument of lasting peace or a weapon of mass destruction?
 
Praise for Sleeping Giants

“Reminiscent of The Martian and World War Z, Sleeping Giants is a luminous conspiracy yarn that shoots for (and lands among) the stars.”—Pierce Brown, New York Times bestselling author of Red Rising
 
“As high-concept as it is, Sleeping Giants is a thriller through and through. . . . Not only is Sleeping Giants one of the most promising series kickoffs in recent memory, it’s a smart demonstration of how science fiction can honor its traditions and reverse-engineer them at the same time.”—NPR
 
“Neuvel weaves a complex tapestry with ancient machinery buried in the Earth, shadow governments, and geopolitical conflicts. But the most surprising thing about the book may just be how compelling the central characters are in the midst of these larger-than-life concepts. . . . I can’t stop thinking about it.”Chicago Review of Books

“First-time novelist Sylvain Neuvel does a bold, splashy cannonball off the high dive with Sleeping Giants. It bursts at the seams with big ideas and the questions they spawn—How much human life is worth sacrificing in the pursuit of scientific progress? Can humanity be trusted with weapons of ultimate destruction? And the biggest: Are we alone? But all that really matters is that this book is a sheer blast from start to finish. I haven’t had this much fun reading in ages.”—Blake Crouch, author of Dark Matter and the bestselling Wayward Pines trilogy

“A remarkable debut . . . Reminiscent of Max Brooks’s World War Z, the story’s format effectively builds suspense.”Library Journal (debut of the month)
 
“This stellar debut novel . . . masterfully blends together elements of sci-fi, political thriller and apocalyptic fiction. . . . A page-turner of the highest order.”—Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“[A] fascinating first novel . . . This intriguing tale is entirely worthy of an adult audience.”Publishers Weekly

From the Hardcover edition.

GENRE
Sci-Fi & Fantasy
RELEASED
2016
April 26
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
320
Pages
PUBLISHER
Random House Worlds
SELLER
Penguin Random House LLC
SIZE
9.6
MB

Customer Reviews

Zombfunguy ,

It’s a book!

I have read hundreds of sci-fi books and I can say, with out a doubt, that this is one of them. It’s a book! Perhaps one of the better books about a dismembered robot left thousands of years ago by a technologically advanced civilization. Worth a go.

tc_sting ,

Lazy writing style

Say you like it when you cannot maintain character development or are completely driven by obvious plot points— then this is the book and author for you.

The writing is lazy. The characters are cliche. And the story itself is forgettable

Mountain Viewer ,

Compelling Narrative — Hard to Put Down

I’m not always a fan of the “collected artifacts” approach to story telling but the author pulls it off masterfully. Fascinating characters and the plot twists just keep coming. Looking forward to the next book in the series.

More Books by Sylvain Neuvel

2017
2018
2021
2016
2019
2022

Customers Also Bought

2018
2018
2018
2018
2018
2017

Other Books in This Series

2017
2018