• $8.99

Publisher Description

Two handsome brothers. An age-old Appalachian feud. And a love that may tear the Norgaard family apart.

After the tragic death of her husband, Aven Norgaard is beckoned to give up her life in Norway to become a housekeeper in the rugged hills of nineteenth-century Appalachia. Upon arrival, she finds herself in the home of her late husband’s cousins—three brothers who make a living by brewing hard cider on their three-hundred-acre farm. Yet even as a stranger in a foreign land, Aven has hope to build a new life in this tight-knit family.

But her unassuming beauty disrupts the bond between the brothers. The youngest two both desire her hand, and Aven is caught in the middle, unsure where—and whether—to offer her affection. While Haakon is bold and passionate, it is Thor who casts the greatest spell upon her. Though Deaf, mute, and dependent on hard drink to cope with his silent pain, Thor possesses a sobering strength.

As autumn ushers in the apple harvest, the rift between Thor and Haakon deepens and Aven faces a choice that risks hearts. Will two brothers’ longing for her quiet spirit tear apart a family? Can she find a tender belonging in this remote, rugged, and unfamiliar world?

A haunting tale of struggle and redemption, Sons of Blackbird Mountain is a portrait of grace in a world where the broken may find new life through the healing mercy of love. 

“Beloved author Joanne Bischof doesn’t disappoint with her latest beautifully written, heartrending tale . . . a quick favorite for historical romance readers.” —Elizabeth Byler Younts, author of The Solace of Water

“Bischof (The Lady and the Lionheart) transports readers to late 19th-century Appalachian Virginia in this moving historical romance . . . With fine historical details and stark prose that fits the story, Bischof skillfully weaves a tale of love and redemption in rough Appalachia.” —Publishers Weekly

“Christy- and Carol Award-winning author Bischof (The Lady and the Lionheart) creates endearing characters and a heartwarming story line in this unforgettable novel about the power of family, love, and the true meaning of home. Fans of Kristy Cambron, Julie Klassen, and Susan Meissner will love this one.” —Library Journal

“Sons of Blackbird Mountain is a quiet gem of a historical romance. Refreshingly real and honest in its depiction of flawed but lovable individuals, it introduces characters readers will want to meet again.” —CBA Market magazine

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2018
July 3
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
352
Pages
PUBLISHER
Thomas Nelson
SELLER
HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS
SIZE
1
MB

Customer Reviews

GreyGirl50 ,

Absolutely mesmerizing!

This book is absolutely mesmerizing from beginning to end! Once I started reading it I found it impossible to tear myself away from this heartwarming Christian drama about three Norwegian siblings who take in the young widow of their deceased cousin. Aven has a backbone of steel after surviving a workhouse in Ireland but she has much to learn about life in America and much to learn about Jorgan, Thor and Haakon, the three strapping Norse men who make their living growing apples on Blackbird Mountain. This book has everything I love about reading Christian fiction. A richly detailed story with an entire cast of sympathetic characters who face many trials and tribulations as they learn to place their lives in the hands of God. I can’t wait to read the rest of this series and more of the inspirational writing of this wonderful author. I read a complimentary copy of this book from Thomas Nelson through NetGalley and all opinions expressed in my voluntary review are completely my own.

Ellen/Oceanside ,

SONS OF BLACKBIRD MOUNTAIN

A story of brothers and Aven giving up her life in Norway to become a housekeeper for three cousins of her husband’s. Thor, we get to know the best with his silent ways, but given to drink. She has beauty, and the brothers desire her hand. The area is different, it is rugged, untamed. How can she decided, without tearing apart the family. Unusual plot, given us more about the brothers.
Given ARC by Thomas Nelson for my voluntary review and my honest opinion.

Linda aka Noni ,

Loved this story!

Joanne is such a great writer. I have read some of her other books and have enjoyed them all. The Sons of Blackbird Mountain has moved to the top of the list. I loved the characters, the story and would definitely recommend this book. Enjoy!

More Books by Joanne Bischof

Other Books in This Series