• $9.99

Publisher Description

Bleak, gritty and moving, Soul Circus superbly brings to life a devastating story of life and death in Washington's black ghettos.

Private Investigator Derek Strange and his partner, Terry Quinn, are running a detective business in the seedy underbelly of Washington, DC when they are approached by a young man asking them to find his girlfriend who has gone missing. And so Strange and Quinn find her.

Just another day? Not quite. In the grimy underworld inhabited by Strange, nothing is that simple. For Strange and Quinn's efforts have led to a young mother being brutally murdered -- a devastating discovery that causes them both to question the morality by which they live. And yet at the same time they need to continue the search for another missing girl, a teenage runaway who shows up in a porn video. And who hasn't been seen since.

Step by step, Strange and his partner are drawn into the darkness, confronting gunrunners, crime lords, drug dealers, and ordinary people caught up in the ruthless violence of the business. Soul Circus is a heart-stopping thriller that could only have been written by George Pelecanos, the writer who "has gone from cult favorite to acknowledged master" (Booklist).

Mysteries & Thrillers
February 3
Little, Brown and Company
Hachette Digital, Inc.

Customer Reviews

Solange Avent ,


I grew up in DC and this book took me back with it's intense and thorough description of life on the streets of southeast DC. I couldn't put it down! I enjoyed the twists in the book and and I truly liked that the protagonist of the novel was down to earth and seems so real. I really liked ending. You win some, you lose some. If I had known about this author before, I would have read his books from the beginning. Quinn and Strange had a very unique relationship that kept me interested in there actions. All of the characters had baggage one way or another. I loved the way all of their lives seemed to intertwine effortlessly. Kudos to the author.

More Books by George Pelecanos

Other Books in This Series