• $2.99

Publisher Description

A niftily done short romance in a satisfyingly gender-role-reversed world.
– K.J. Charles, author of Spectred Isle

In the world of the Harwood Spellbook, 19th-century Angland is ruled by a powerful group of women known as the Boudiccate - but in order to become a member of that group, a lady must be not only a ruthless politician but also the wife of a gentleman mage.

Amy Standish is a born politician, and she's spent all her life training for the moment when she will finally step into the political arena with a rising mage as her match...which makes it entirely unfortunate that, just as all of her careful plans are coming together, she is faced with the hopelessly impractical and irresistible prospect of Jonathan Harwood - a man who will never, ever be a mage.

Now, on the night of the Harwoods' Spring Solstice Ball, in an underwater ballroom full of sparkling fey lights and danger, Amy will have to fight the greatest political battle of her life to win a family and a future that she could never have imagined...and it will take an entirely unexpected kind of magic to keep everything from crashing down around her.

Spellswept by Stephanie Burgis somehow makes room for EPIC ROMANCE and ADORABLE FAMILY LOVE and MENTORSHIP and POLITICS and MAGIC and CHANGING SOCIETY and I think I actually squeed aloud at several points because it’s JUST. SO. LOVELY. 
– Starship Library

Stephanie Burgis is a fresh new voice and I can’t wait to see what she does next.
– Ilona Andrews

October 30
Stephanie Burgis
Smashwords, Inc.

Customer Reviews

HRJones ,

Delightful Regency fantasy

A prequel best read after you’d been introduced to the Harwood Spellbook series. The (future) sister-in-law of the central character of Snowspelled is a strong-willed woman who goes after what (and who) she wants and brings about a satisfying conclusion by refusing to abandon the dreams of any of the people she loves. I particularly enjoyed the casual ethnic diversity of the characters.

More Books by Stephanie Burgis

Other Books in This Series