Spying on the South Spying on the South

Spying on the South

An Odyssey Across the American Divide

    • 4.1 • 56 Ratings
    • $13.99
    • $13.99

Publisher Description

The New York Times-bestselling final book by the beloved, Pulitzer-Prize winning historian Tony Horwitz.
 
With Spying on the South, the best-selling author of Confederates in the Attic returns to the South and the Civil War era for an epic adventure on the trail of America's greatest landscape architect. In the 1850s, the young Frederick Law Olmsted was adrift, a restless farmer and dreamer in search of a mission. He found it during an extraordinary journey, as an undercover correspondent in the South for the up-and-coming New York Times.

For the Connecticut Yankee, pen name "Yeoman," the South was alien, often hostile territory. Yet Olmsted traveled for 14 months, by horseback, steamboat, and stagecoach, seeking dialogue and common ground. His vivid dispatches about the lives and beliefs of Southerners were revelatory for readers of his day, and Yeoman's remarkable trek also reshaped the American landscape, as Olmsted sought to reform his own society by creating democratic spaces for the uplift of all. The result: Central Park and Olmsted's career as America's first and foremost landscape architect.

Tony Horwitz rediscovers Yeoman Olmsted amidst the discord and polarization of our own time. Is America still one country? In search of answers, and his own adventures, Horwitz follows Olmsted's tracks and often his mode of transport (including muleback): through Appalachia, down the Mississippi River, into bayou Louisiana, and across Texas to the contested Mexican borderland. Venturing far off beaten paths, Horwitz uncovers bracing vestiges and strange new mutations of the Cotton Kingdom. Horwitz's intrepid and often hilarious journey through an outsized American landscape is a masterpiece in the tradition of Great Plains, Bad Land, and the author's own classic, Confederates in the Attic.

GENRE
History
RELEASED
2019
May 14
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
496
Pages
PUBLISHER
Penguin Publishing Group
SELLER
PENGUIN GROUP USA, INC.
SIZE
8.5
MB

More Books Like This

Brave Companions Brave Companions
2007
PrairyErth PrairyErth
2014
Bad Land Bad Land
1996
The Rush The Rush
2014
The Middle Passage The Middle Passage
2002
In Pursuit of Jefferson In Pursuit of Jefferson
2022

More Books by Tony Horwitz

Confederates in the Attic Confederates in the Attic
1998
Blue Latitudes Blue Latitudes
2003
Midnight Rising Midnight Rising
2011
A Voyage Long and Strange A Voyage Long and Strange
2008
One for the Road One for the Road
1999
South Sea Tales South Sea Tales
2002

Customers Also Bought

South to America South to America
2022
Working Working
2019
Robert E. Lee and Me Robert E. Lee and Me
2021
A Fever in the Heartland A Fever in the Heartland
2023
Life on the Mississippi Life on the Mississippi
2022
River of the Gods River of the Gods
2022