• $0.99

Publisher Description

This book comes complete with a Touch-or-Click Table of Contents, divided by each section.

Stations of the Cross refers to a series of artistic representations, very often sculptural, depicting Christ Carrying the Cross to his crucifixion in the final hours (or Passion) of Jesus, and to devotions commemorating the Passion that use the series, often moving physically around a set of stations. 

The vast majority of Roman Catholic churches now contain such a series, typically placed at intervals along the side walls of the nave; in most churches these are small plaques with reliefs or paintings, simpler than most of the examples shown here. 

The tradition as chapel devotion began with St. Francis of Assisi and extended throughout the Roman Catholic Church in the medieval period. It is commonly observed in Lutheranism, but it is less often observed in Anglicanism.

It may be done at any time, but is most commonly done during the Season of Lent, especially on Good Friday and on Friday evenings during Lent.

This version was composed by Saint Alphonsus Liguori.

You can purchase other religious works directly from Wyatt North Publishing.


Religion & Spirituality
May 5
Wyatt North Publishing, LLC
Wyatt North Publishing, LLC

Customer Reviews

Redwilkins ,

Stabat Mater for 9th Station Is Incorrect

This is a very good book. However, the Stabat Mater (3 line verse at the bottom of each Station) of the Ninth Station 'Jesus Falls For The Third Time' is incorrect. The book reads as follows:

Ah Mother, fountain of love
make me feel the force of the sorrow
so that I may mourn with you

It should read like this instead:

O Thou Mother! fount of love!
Touch My Spirit From Above
Make My Heart With Thin Accord

Otherwise this is an excellent book. The other verses are fine.

I tried to get hold of the designer (Wyatt North Publishing) of this book via their website, but was unable to get hold of them. I sent them an email, but nobody could be bothered to reply. I would have given it 5 stars, but have given it 2 because of poor service.

More Books by St. Alphonsus Liguori