Such a Bad Influence Such a Bad Influence

Such a Bad Influence

    • 4.1 • 23 Ratings
    • $10.99
    • $10.99

Publisher Description

A USA Today Best Seller
A Good Morning America Sizzling Summer Reads Roundup Pick

“A fascinating exploration of the dangers of social media . . . smart and timely.”—Carola Lovering, author of Tell Me Lies and Bye, Baby

For fans of Ashley Winstead, Jessica Knoll, and Jo Piazza, an electric debut thriller about what happens when one of the first child stars of the social media age grows up . . . and goes missing.


Hazel Davis is drifting: she’s stalled in her career, living in a city she hates, and less successful than her younger sister, @evelyn, a mega-popular lifestyle influencer. Evie came of age online, having gone viral at five years old for a heart-tugging daddy-daughter dance. Ten years older and spotlight-averse, Hazel managed to dodge the family YouTube channel—so although she can barely afford her apartment, at least she made her own way.

Evie is eighteen now, with a multimillion-dollar career and unlimited opportunities, but Hazel is still protective of her little sister and skeptical of the way everyone seems to want a piece of her: Evie’s followers, her YouTuber boyfriend and influencer frenemies, and their opportunistic mother. So when Evie disappears one day—during an unsettling live stream that cuts out midsentence—Hazel is horrified to have her worst instincts proven right.

As theories about Evie’s disappearance tear through the internet, inspiring hashtags, Reddit threads, podcast episodes, and scorn, Hazel throws herself into the darkest parts of her sister’s world to untangle the threads of truth. After all, Hazel knows Evie better than anyone else . . . doesn’t she?

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
RELEASED
2024
June 4
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
336
Pages
PUBLISHER
Quirk Books
SELLER
Penguin Random House LLC
SIZE
2.8
MB

Customer Reviews

Lechicgeek ,

A fun, thought-provoking debut novel

If you like your cultural commentary in the form of well-paced, well-written fiction (a la “Such a Fun Age”) you will like this book a lot. Fun twists and turns in the plot. Great writing, creative plotting, and characters that are multi-faceted.

More Books Like This

People Like Her People Like Her
2021
A Woman Alone A Woman Alone
2020
HER: A Psychological Thriller HER: A Psychological Thriller
2019
She Started It She Started It
2023
The Chateau The Chateau
2023
The Collective The Collective
2021

Customers Also Bought

The Christmas Orphans Club The Christmas Orphans Club
2023
No One Needs to Know No One Needs to Know
2023
Five Bad Deeds Five Bad Deeds
2023
The Social Climber The Social Climber
2023
The Legacies The Legacies
2023
Missing White Woman Missing White Woman
2024