• $10.99

Publisher Description

An NPR Book Concierge Pick of the Year

“The fun of this engrossing read is that underneath the slapstick lies a finely nuanced meditation on how we perform as ourselves.” —New York Times Book Review
 
From the New York Times bestselling author of Frankly in Love comes a moving young adult novel about friendship, identity, and acceptance. Perfect for fans of John Green and To All the Boys I've Love Before.


When Sunny meets Cirrus, he can't believe how cool and confident she is. So when Cirrus mistakenly thinks Sunny plays guitar, he accidentally winds up telling her he's the front man of a rock band.

Before he knows it, Sunny is knee-deep in the lie: He gets his best friends to form a fake band with him and starts dressing like a rock star. But no way can he trick this amazing girl into thinking he's cool, right?

Just when Sunny is about to come clean, Cirrus asks to see them play sometime. Gulp.

Now there's only one thing to do: Fake it till you make it.

GENRE
Young Adult
RELEASED
2020
November 17
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
368
Pages
PUBLISHER
Penguin Young Readers Group
SELLER
PENGUIN GROUP USA, INC.
SIZE
43.7
MB

Customer Reviews

kshocks ,

YA Coming of Age

I thought this was a fun (though predictable) read for YA fans. Sunny considers he and his two friends to be nerds. They enjoy LARPing and have a YouTube series about their DIY LARP projects. Sunny meets Cirrus, the daughter of his parent’s friends, and is immediately attracted to her. Through some confusion during their initial meeting, he ends up pretending to be in a band and you can guess where the rest of the story goes.

Overall I thought it was a cute read. I enjoyed the “coming of age” aspects of Sunny’s character and the theme of being true to yourself. Sunny’s friends Milo and Jamal were so adorable and were the best friends anyone could ask for. I was kind of annoyed at times with Sunny’s self-centered nature around his friends and family, but I still enjoyed seeing his character grow. This was somewhere between 3 and 4 stars for me. I enjoyed the book as a whole but there were certain parts that seemed to drag for me. If you’re a fan of YA I would definitely recommend checking this one out!

More Books by David Yoon