• $12.99

Publisher Description

The first volume of one of the greatest novels of the twentieth century, in Lydia Davis's award-winning translation

Marcel Proust’s In Search of Lost Time is one of the most entertaining reading experiences in any language and arguably the finest novel of the twentieth century. But since its original prewar translation there has been no completely new version in English. Now, Penguin Classics brings Proust’s masterpiece to new audiences throughout the world, beginning with Lydia Davis’s internationally acclaimed translation of the first volume, Swann’s Way.

Swann's Way is one of the preeminent novels of childhood: a sensitive boy's impressions of his family and neighbors, all brought dazzlingly back to life years later by the taste of a madeleine. It also enfolds the short novel "Swann in Love," an incomparable study of sexual jealousy that becomes a crucial part of the vast, unfolding structure of In Search of Lost Time. The first volume of the work that established Proust as one of the finest voices of the modern age—satirical, skeptical, confiding, and endlessly varied in his response to the human condition—Swann's Way also stands on its own as a perfect rendering of a life in art, of the past recreated through memory.

Fiction & Literature
November 30
Penguin Publishing Group

Customer Reviews

jaduffy007 ,

Great book but

Really unique and rewarding reading experience. Disappointing the book costs $14 on iBooks and $1.99 on Kindle.

HoldieLewie ,

Two masterpieces in one

Proust was a magician. On almost every page, I felt compelled to stop and marvel at an observation or a turn of phrase or a complex sentence. Proust dives into the workings of his mind -- and of your mind, too -- with his miraculous renderings of the ways that thought, emotion, memory collide to produce consciousness. It's a difficult read, and you must have patience as well as peace and quiet. I think it's the greatest novel written.

The other masterpiece is Lydia Davis's translation. It is clear and it sounds natural to my American ears.

More Books by Marcel Proust, Lydia Davis & Christopher Prendergast

Other Books in This Series