• $9.99

Publisher Description

Starred reviews from Publishers Weekly and Booklist * YALSA Top Ten Quick Pick for Reluctant Readers * ALA Best Fiction for Young Adults List * 2017 Rainbow

A sharply honest and moving debut perfect for fans of The Perks of Being a Wallflower and Ask the Passengers.

Riley Cavanaugh is many things: Punk rock. Snarky. Rebellious. And gender fluid. Some days Riley identifies as a boy, and others as a girl. But Riley isn't exactly out yet. And between starting a new school and having a congressman father running for reelection in über-conservative Orange County, the pressure—media and otherwise—is building up in Riley's life.

On the advice of a therapist, Riley starts an anonymous blog to vent those pent-up feelings and tell the truth of what it's really like to be a gender fluid teenager. But just as Riley's starting to settle in at school—even developing feelings for a mysterious outcast—the blog goes viral, and an unnamed commenter discovers Riley's real identity, threatening exposure. And Riley must make a choice: walk away from what the blog has created—a lifeline, new friends, a cause to believe in—or stand up, come out, and risk everything.

From debut author Jeff Garvin comes a powerful and uplifting portrait of a modern teen struggling with high school, relationships, and what it means to be a person.

GENRE
Young Adult
RELEASED
2016
February 2
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
368
Pages
PUBLISHER
Balzer + Bray
SELLER
HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS
SIZE
972.1
KB
AUDIENCE
Ninth Grade

Customer Reviews

Acro111 ,

Tears and Truth

I had my choice of books laid out before me at the beginning of the Fall 2020 semester. After casual class introductions, I realized that in my class of thirty-some students I was among the youngest ones there, and I was the only one who openly identified as being a part of the LGBTQ community. And I’ve known for nearly a decade that I was not “normal”. Seeing Riley go through what I have gone through made me want to wrap them up in my arms and protect them from any further harm. But I am so grateful to see that they got, what I am calling, the best case scenario.
Thank you for not shielding away from the truths LGBTQ youths (and adults) face. Thank you for writing a truth (even if I did cry more than once while reading).
Thank you.

BellhollowSkibowl ,

Very moving book, changed my paradigm

This book helped me understand the world we live in, the un-accepting world I grew up in and a glimmer of hope for the future. My daughter and I read this book together. She has has been mercilessly bullied in the past and this book helped her understand she is not alone in her struggle to get by and fit in.

my dog is my whole life srsly ,

So great

Read it at my library in Minnesota and was wowed. As a member of the LGBTQIA+ ppl, I loved the book and message. Peace out, my fellow HOMOsapiens

More Books by Jeff Garvin

2020
2012