• $11.99

Publisher Description

Just as readers have been transfixed by the stories, characters, and deeper meanings of Lewis's timeless tales in The Chronicles of Narnia, most find this same allure in his classic Space Trilogy. In these fantasy stories for adults, we encounter, once again, magical creatures, a world of wonders, epic battles, and revelations of transcendent truths.

That Hideous Strength is the third novel in Lewis's science fiction trilogy. Set on Earth, it tells of a terrifying conspiracy against humanity. The story surrounds Mark and Jane Studdock, a newly married couple. Mark is a sociologist who is enticed to join an organization called N.I.C.E., which aims to control all human life. Jane, meanwhile, has bizarre prophetic dreams about a decapitated scientist, Alcasan. As Mark is drawn inextricably into the sinister organization, he discovers the truth of his wife's dreams when he meets the literal head of Alcasan, which is being kept alive by infusions of blood. Jane seeks help concerning her dreams at a community called St. Anne's, where she meets their leader—Dr. Ransom. The story ends in a final spectacular scene at the N.I.C.E. headquarters where Merlin appears to confront the powers of Hell.

Sci-Fi & Fantasy
April 3

Customer Reviews

Jon Burnett ,

A Cosmic Eucatastrophe

Imagine a world in which all the old stories were true: good and evil, kings and wizards, angels and demons, death and resurrection, travels across space and time--and then realize that this is, in fact, the way our world works. Lewis not only spins a marvelous yarn, he tells us much about the "men without chests" many of us have become, hinting at his own shockingly "backward" thoughts on how to bring us back to the New Men we were always meant to be.

benajin ,


My favorite book of all time.

Aaronlee22 ,

Best Book Ever!!!

I have been really enjoying this book and just finished reading it for my reading pleasure. I wish they would write more books like this one. The space trilogy is a really good book series by CS Lewis and I would highly recommend it.

More Books by C. S. Lewis

Other Books in This Series