• $0.99

Publisher Description

Two women. One shocking wartime secret. And a family mystery just waiting to be discovered…


Berlin Zoo, 1943: Ten-year-old Adelaide and her newborn sister are orphaned after a devastating night of bombing. Heartbroken and frightened, Adelaide runs to her mother’s closest friend, Katharina Heinroth, and the kind zookeeper takes the two little girls under her protection. As the bombing intensifies, Adelaide tries to shut out the horrors of war by caring for her tiny sister and playing with the adorable baby monkeys. But when Katharina organises a dangerous operation to enable children and animals to escape the battle-scarred city, something goes wrong. And Adelaide has to promise her adopted mother to keep a shocking secret. A secret that will change Adelaide’s life forever.

 

Berlin Zoo, 2019: Bethan Taylor notices the elderly lady sitting on the bench next to her seems confused, her thoughts flitting between past and present. Ada talks of her childhood, played out in an underground bunker beneath the animal enclosures during the war. As Ada’s story unfolds, Bethan is surprised to hear a name she recognises…

 

Katharina Heinroth is at the top of a list of German names Bethan found in a hidden compartment of her late mother’s jewellery box. Bethan’s father couldn’t tell her anything about the crumpled piece of paper and she’s been searching for the meaning ever since.

 

As the two women are brought together by the pain of the past can they help each other to heal? And after decades of silence, can Ada help Bethan to uncover a long-buried family mystery?

 

An unforgettable and heart-wrenching novel of a brave orphan girl and a shocking wartime secret. Inspired by a true WW2 story and perfect for fans of Orphan Train, The Tattooist of Auschwitz and The Alice Network.

 

Why readers love The Berlin Zookeeper:

 

Wow! What an emotional read, right from the very start the author was pulling at my heart strings and my emotions, there was times I had to put down my kindle because I had tears in my eyes five star read.’ Netgalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

Brilliantloved this book so muchhankies at the ready cos you will need them, heartbreaking.’ Netgalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

HeartbreakingI was gripped from the very beginning and honestly I didn't want this book to end! Fabulous, loved it! Netgalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

This book grabbed me from the very beginning... this book was a home runI loved every page of this bookterrific!!toreadistobreathe, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

Kept me hooked from the beginning… I was totally engrossed in the story… beautiful bookWorth five stars!’ Netgalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

FANTASTIC!’ Netgalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

HeartwarmingI honestly felt like I couldn’t read this book fast enough & the setting of Berlin Zoo was just magical. Don’t miss out!’ Netgalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

LovedI didn't want the story to end as I was completely entranced by it.’ Echoes In An Empty Room, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

HeartbreakingincredibleI could not stop reading and wanting to know how the book ended!’ Netgalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

Captivating… I love that this story has a dual time line focus of World War 2 and present-day Berlin. You will be mesmerizedI truly loved this book.’ Netgalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

Gripped and enthralled by The Berlin Zookeeper from the moment it appeared on my kindle.  I didn’t merely “read” Bethan’s story, but became invested and involved in her quest… buy Anna’s book, because you won’t be disappointed! Netgalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2021
May 4
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
417
Pages
PUBLISHER
Bookouture
SELLER
StoryFire Ltd
SIZE
3.6
MB

Customer Reviews

Moosech ,

Phenomenal Time Slip Novel

I love time slip novels especially one’s that revolve around World War II, and this one written by Anna Stuart kept my attention from start to finish. This rapid page turner is an absolute must read. It is one that I devoured in one sitting.

I absolutely loved the story of Adelaide and her infant sister. But Katrina who was a true heroine because of the sacrifices she made in her life to help the orphaned children of the war. She would do anything to save as many children as she possibly can. But now fast forward to Berlin current day, Bethan Taylor and goes to work in the Berlin Zoo as a Vet. One day she meets a lady at the Berlin Zoo sitting on a bench. As the conversation begins is the lady she meets someone she knows…from her past? As Bethan’s desire to uncover the mystery of her past and determine her future, the lady she has come across can unlock, solve and answer so many questions. This time slip novel, mixes the past and the present, it is one that is sure to stick with you for a very long time.

I was so enthralled with this emotional story. I was so engrossed with the story and the characters. This one will have to be read with a box of Kleenex nearby. Thank you Anna Stuart for this phenomenal story, I absolutely loved it.

Annette414 ,

Good book

I’ve read a lot of WW2 books but none have taken place in a zoo. I never thought about any zoos or the animals that might have to survive the bombings.
This book is told in dual timelines, each story just as interesting. I thought the book was really good, it was hard to put down. Definitely recommend to historical fiction fans.
Thanks to Netgalley and the publisher for the early copy

More Books by Anna Stuart