• Pre-Order
    • Expected Oct 31, 2019
    • $3.99

Publisher Description

1914. While their men fight in France, at home in Britain women are finally seizing the opportunity to make a difference . . .

Maggie and her new friends Annie, Irene and Sarah come from very different backgrounds, but they've got one thing in common: they've all signed up for the Women Police Volunteers. They can't wait to show the men just what they're made of.

But soon, Maggie realises she's in over her head. Hiding her involvement with the WPV from her tyrannous father is becoming ever more difficult, and when she bumps into an old acquaintance with a big chip on his shoulder, the dangers of her new life become all too clear . . .

As Maggie and the girls work together to find their feet on the beat, will their friendship get her through the darkest of times?

A gritty, uplifting new saga series about the first ever female police officers, set at the outbreak of the First World War - perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Daisy Styles and Call the Midwife.

Readers are already loving THE BOBBY GIRLS!

'A lovely story! The author has researched the era and the theme very well. The characters stood out on the page and through their eyes you are transported back to a different age. 5 STARS' (AnneMarie Brear, author of Beneath a Stormy Sky)

'What a fantastic read. I was gripped from start to finish. So well written. 5 STARS'

'Fabulous book. It was so nice to read of women in the police in war time. Great characters and a great story - well done to the author. 5 STARS'

'A read good story that paints the time period really well. I loved all the characters and their stories. I would recommend this to all. 5 STARS'

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
AVAILABLE
2019
October 31
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
336
Pages
PUBLISHER
Hodder & Stoughton
SELLER
Hachette Digital, Inc.

More Books by Johanna Bell