• $12.99

Publisher Description

In the new Secret, Book, and Scone Society novel from New York Times bestselling author Ellery Adams, the rain in Miracle Springs, North Carolina, has been relentless—and a flood of trouble is about to be unleashed . . .
As the owner of Miracle Books, Nora Pennington figures all the wet weather this spring is at least good for business. The local inns are packed with stranded travelers, and among them Nora finds both new customers and a new friend, the sixtysomething Sheldon, who starts helping out at the store.
Since a little rain never hurt anyone, Nora rides her bike over to the flea market one sodden day and buys a bowl from Danny, a Cherokee potter. It’ll make a great present for Nora’s EMT boyfriend, but the next day, a little rain turns into a lot of rain, and the Miracle River overflows it banks. Amid the wreckage of a collapsed footbridge, Danny's body lies within the churning water.
Nora and the sheriff both doubt the ruling of accidental drowning, and Nora decides it’s time for the Secret, Book, and Scone Society to spring into action. When another body turns up, it becomes clearer that Danny’s death can’t be blamed on a natural disaster. A crucial clue may lie within the stone walls of the Inn of Mist and Roses: a diary, over a century old and spattered with candle wax, that leads Nora and her friends through a maze of intrigue—and onto the trail of a murderer . . .

Mysteries & Thrillers
January 28
Kensington Books
Kensington Publishing Corp.

Customer Reviews

Kris Anderson, The Avid Reader ,

A charming whodunit

The Book of Candlelight by Ellery Adams is the third A Secret, Book and Scone Society Novel. It can easily be read on its own for those new to this charming cozy mystery series. Nora Pennington started life over in Miracle Springs, North Carolina. Nora owns Miracle Books, lives in a cute caboose, has four close friends and a handsome EMT boyfriend. The continual rain has tourists hitting the shops. Nora is run off her feet with customers. While she is enjoying the increased revenue, Nora is worn out plus her shelves are barren. Nora discovers the body of Cherokee Danny in the Miracle River among the footbridge wreckage. She is baffled as to why anyone would kill the kindly potter. Nora along with June, Hester and Estella make up the Secret, Book and Scone Society. They meet each week to chat, discuss books and solve the occasional crime. I like the diverse cast of characters in The Book of Candlelight. Each of the four women have issues from their past that trouble them. I like how close these women have become and that they are there for each other. They help each other out, are supportive of one other and how they help others. The mystery was intriguing with two murders for the ladies to solve. Native American folklore played into the mystery especially the symbolism of the red bird. I like that the mystery tied into the past. The author created an interesting whodunit with an abundance of clues to help readers identify the guilty party. There were additional mysterious elements in The Book of Candlelight with the cagey man in the white t-shirt and someone who was committing outrageous crimes (hate crimes). Sheldon Silverstein Vega is a new character and he is absolutely delightful. He is over-the-top with a friendly demeanor. The poor man suffers from rheumatoid arthritis and fibromyalgia which causes him untold pain at times. I like Sheldon and understood his pain as I have the same conditions. I am glad that Sheldon will be staying in Miracle Springs because I want to see more of this extrovert. I loved the clever banned book display Sheldon created. It was unique and brings attention to the various (sometimes idiotic) reasons a book may be banned. The Book of Candlelight is an emotional and realistic story that was over far too soon. There is about a dozen bad words (aka foul language) in this book which surprised me. I am not used to finding foul language in books written by this author. I loved the literary references in the story. Book lover will find them appealing. The Book of Candlelight is a charming whodunit with banned books, a gregarious gentleman, a discovered diary, an ingenious exhibition, spooky symbolism, and four familiar friends.

musiqmim ,

Best book in series so far

This is the best book in the series so far. I love the way each character has developed throughout the series and that they embraced their own flaws and accepted one another. It is really nice to read about a group of women who accept one another for who they really are and not bring one another down. I really enjoyed the new secondary character, Sheldon. He is really a good fit to work in the book store for Nora. I thought Sheldon’s book display of banned books was wonderful. The storyline of this book will bring out a lot of emotions while you are reading the book you may feel anything from joy to sadness to anger. The mystery is well-plotted with several suspects and several twists and turns along the way. I recommend this book as well as the two previous books in the series.

I voluntarily agreed to listen to a copy of this book. All thoughts and opinions are my own and in no way have been influenced by anyone.

toggercat24alisha ,

Best one yet

The Book Of Candlelight by Ellery Adams is by far the best one yet. You have the same main characters and then you are introduced to new delightful people and pray they are not involved in the crazy. I literally lost time reading this book both evenings that I sat down to read. The story Miss Adams weaves will take you away from your life while the book is in your hands. As always The Book of Candlelight may be read as a stand-alone as there is enough backstory to get you through but why miss the whole lovely series?? Highly recommend to anyone new or old to Miss Adams books.

More Books by Ellery Adams

Other Books in This Series