• Pre-Order
    • Expected May 5, 2020
    • $14.99

Publisher Description

For readers of The Hours and Fates and Furies, a bold, kaleidoscopic novel intertwining the lives of three women across three centuries as their stories of sex, power, and desire finally converge in the present day

Lily is a mother and a daughter. And a second wife. And a writer, maybe? Or she was going to be, before she had children. Now, in her rented Brooklyn apartment she’s grappling with her sexual and intellectual desires, while also trying to manage her roles as a mother and a wife in 2016.

Vivian Barr seems to be the perfect political wife, dedicated to helping her charismatic and ambitious husband find success in Watergate-era Washington D.C. But one night he demands a humiliating favor, and her refusal to obey changes the course of her life—along with the lives of others.

Esther is a fiercely independent young woman in ancient Persia, where she and her uncle’s tribe live a tenuous existence outside the palace walls. When an innocent mistake results in devastating consequences for her people, she is offered up as a sacrifice to please the King, in the hopes that she will save them all.

The Book of V. is a contemporary investigation into the enduring expectations and restraints placed on women’s lives.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
AVAILABLE
2020
May 5
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
320
Pages
PUBLISHER
Henry Holt and Co.
SELLER
Macmillan

More Books by Anna Solomon