The Bookshop of Second Chances

A Novel

    • 4.0 • 39 Ratings
    • $8.99
    • $8.99

Publisher Description

A woman desperate to turn a new page heads to the Scottish coast and finds herself locked in a battle of wills with an infuriatingly aloof bookseller in this utterly heartwarming debut, perfect for readers of Evvie Drake Starts Over.

“Humor and charm abound. . . . [This] love story hits the spot.”—Publishers Weekly


Thea Mottram is having a bad month. She’s been let go from her office job with no notice—and to make matters even worse, her husband of nearly twenty years has decided to leave her for one of her friends. Bewildered and completely lost, Thea doesn’t know what to do. But when she learns that a distant great uncle in Scotland has passed away, leaving her his home and a hefty antique book collection, she decides to leave Sussex for a few weeks. Escaping to a small coastal town where no one knows her seems to be exactly what she needs.

Almost instantly, Thea becomes enamored with the quaint cottage, comforted by its cozy rooms and lovely but neglected garden. The locals in nearby Baldochrie are just as warm, quirky, and inviting. The only person she can’t seem to win over is bookshop owner Edward Maltravers, to whom she hopes to sell her uncle’s book collection. His gruff attitude—fueled by an infamous, long-standing feud with his brother, a local lord—tests Thea’s patience. But bickering with Edward proves oddly refreshing and exciting, leading Thea to develop feelings she hasn’t experienced in a long time. As she follows a thrilling yet terrifying impulse to stay in Scotland indefinitely, Thea realizes that her new life may quickly become just as complicated as the one she was running from.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2021
May 4
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
448
Pages
PUBLISHER
Random House Publishing Group
SELLER
Penguin Random House LLC
SIZE
2.8
MB

Customer Reviews

akbaird ,

A heartfelt read

When Thea’s life is upended due to her husband leaving her for her friend and being made redundant at her job, a letter arrives, which brings the most needed changes to her life. She has been informed that she is inheriting her Great Uncle Andrew’s house and inheritance in Scotland. Will this be the change she needs with moving forward with her life? This heartfelt book will have you turning the pages to find out. Jackie Fraser will sweep you away to Scotland to live vicariously though Thea. This book explores love, loss, friendships,and second chances. Great topics for book club discussions! Be sure to add it to your TBR list!

berrypatch95 ,

Cozy read

I’m a huge fan of stories based in the UK and this one didn’t disappoint. I became so comfortable with the characters that I felt they were part of my life. I didn’t want the story to end. The story had some many things that can happen in a persons life and how they deal with it. There are some many directions the story goes that it keeps you on the edge of your seat to know what’s happening next. Can wait to read whatever the author has next!

More Books by Jackie Fraser

2023
2022
2021
2021

Customers Also Bought

2022
2021
2021
2020
2022
2020