The Boy with a Bird in His Chest The Boy with a Bird in His Chest

The Boy with a Bird in His Chest

A Novel

    • 4.3 • 6 Ratings
    • $13.99
    • $13.99

Publisher Description

Longlisted for The Center for Fiction 2022 First Novel Prize

“A modern coming-of-age full of love, desperation, heartache, and magic” (Andrew Sean Greer, Pulitzer Prize–winning author) about “the ways in which family, grief, love, queerness, and vulnerability all intersect” (Kristen Arnett, New York Times bestselling author). Perfect for fans of The Perks of Being a Wallflower and The Thirty Names of Night.

Though Owen Tanner has never met anyone else who has a chatty bird in their chest, medical forums would call him a Terror. From the moment Gail emerged between Owen’s ribs, his mother knew that she had to hide him away from the world. After a decade spent in hiding, Owen takes a brazen trip outdoors in the middle of a forest fire, and his life is upended forever.

Suddenly, Owen is forced to flee the home that had once felt so confining and hide in plain sight with his uncle and cousin in Washington. There, he feels the joy of finding a family among friends; of sharing the bird in his chest and being embraced fully; of falling in love and feeling the devastating heartbreak of rejection before finding a spark of happiness in the most unexpected place; of living his truth regardless of how hard the thieves of joy may try to tear him down. But the threat of the Army of Acronyms is a constant, looming presence, making Owen wonder if he’ll ever find a way out of the cycle of fear.

A heartbreaking yet hopeful novel about the things that make us unique and lovable, The Boy with a Bird in His Chest grapples with the fear, depression, and feelings of isolation that come with believing that we will never be loved, let alone accepted, for who we truly are, and learning to live fully and openly regardless.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2022
February 15
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
320
Pages
PUBLISHER
Atria Books
SELLER
Simon & Schuster Digital Sales LLC
SIZE
4.9
MB

More Books Like This

No Doors, No Windows No Doors, No Windows
2009
Shivers 7 Shivers 7
2015
North American Lake Monsters North American Lake Monsters
2013
Heart Mountain Heart Mountain
2017
American Nightmare American Nightmare
2014
The Joe Hill The Joe Hill
2014

Customers Also Bought

Mexican Gothic Mexican Gothic
2020
Cloud Cuckoo Land Cloud Cuckoo Land
2021
Olive, Again Olive, Again
2019
Demon Copperhead Demon Copperhead
2022
The Dutch House The Dutch House
2019
Lessons in Chemistry Lessons in Chemistry
2022