The Boys in the Boat The Boys in the Boat

The Boys in the Boat

Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics

    • 4.7 • 4.4K Ratings
    • $13.99
    • $13.99

Publisher Description

Now a Major Motion Picture Directed by George Clooney

The #1 New York Times–bestselling story about the American Olympic rowing triumph in Nazi Germany—from the author of Facing the Mountain.

For readers of Unbroken, out of the depths of the Depression comes an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times—the improbable, intimate account of how nine working-class boys from the American West showed the world at the 1936 Olympics in Berlin what true grit really meant.

It was an unlikely quest from the start. With a team composed of the sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the University of Washington’s eight-oar crew team was never expected to defeat the elite teams of the East Coast and Great Britain, yet they did, going on to shock the world by defeating the German team rowing for Adolf Hitler. The emotional heart of the tale lies with Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, who rows not only to regain his shattered self-regard but also to find a real place for himself in the world. Drawing on the boys’ own journals and vivid memories of a once-in-a-lifetime shared dream, Brown has created an unforgettable portrait of an era, a celebration of a remarkable achievement, and a chronicle of one extraordinary young man’s personal quest.

GENRE
Sports & Outdoors
RELEASED
2013
June 4
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
416
Pages
PUBLISHER
Penguin Publishing Group
SELLER
PENGUIN GROUP USA, INC.
SIZE
51.6
MB

Customer Reviews

Andy1474 ,

A magical read

Some books simply feel like a gift as they successfully transport you to a different time and into different lives. The Boys in the Boat is ones of those books - a true gift to readers. The men are memorable and the story inspiring. The writing is, without a doubt, lyrical. I am simply sad it had to end.

Tula456 ,

The Boys in the Boat

An incredible story of courage in the face of what seems like unsurmountable odds. A well written story of what it means to truly be a part of something bigger than yourself. I flew through this story at once wanting to get to the end and at the same time never wanting it to end. Enjoyed every word of this thought provoking true story and the men who made it happen.

NKEN87 ,

Best Book of 2013

This is a truly phenomenal book. You don't need to be even the slightest rowing fan because this book is about so much more than the sport. It's a tale about teamwork in it's greatest form. About history in one of the most turbulent eras ever. And about 9 young men who worked together to become one.

More Books Like This

The All Americans The All Americans
2007
Bowerman and the Men of Oregon Bowerman and the Men of Oregon
2006
All Fishermen Are Liars All Fishermen Are Liars
2004
Twelve Mighty Orphans Twelve Mighty Orphans
2007
The Undefeated The Undefeated
2007
Four Men in a Boat Four Men in a Boat
2015

More Books by Daniel James Brown

The Indifferent Stars Above The Indifferent Stars Above
2009
Facing the Mountain Facing the Mountain
2021
The Boys in the Boat (Young Readers Adaptation) The Boys in the Boat (Young Readers Adaptation)
2015
Remando como un solo hombre Remando como un solo hombre
2015
Facing the Mountain (Adapted for Young Readers) Facing the Mountain (Adapted for Young Readers)
2023
Erano ragazzi in barca Erano ragazzi in barca
2015

Customers Also Bought

The Lincoln Highway The Lincoln Highway
2021
The Wager The Wager
2023
The Diamond Eye The Diamond Eye
2022
Killers of the Flower Moon Killers of the Flower Moon
2017
The Women The Women
2024
The Splendid and the Vile The Splendid and the Vile
2020