• $3.99

Publisher Description

Wow!!! What an absolutely devastatingly gorgeous heartbreaking stunning book!!!… One of the best debut novels I've ever read… I was devastated by the end… Once it sucks you in then you’re not coming out until the very last page. Absolutely unputdownable!!!’ Bookworm86, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


I blamed my son for the death of my daughter…


Frail butterfly enthusiast Maggie Muir has lived a lonely life in her huge remote house on the Cornish cliffs for many years. Once a mother with two beautiful children, the sudden death of Maggie’s daughter, forever a little girl in her fairy nightdress, ripped the family apart and caused her son Lucas to flee to the other side of the world. But now Maggie is dying and there is something she needs her son to know.


As Maggie grows increasingly frail, twenty-five-year-old Erin, who has fled London with a broken heart, arrives to take care of her. Maggie begs Erin to help her find Lucas, who now lives in a far-away place of searing heat and pearly sands.


But when Erin tracks Lucas down, it quickly becomes clear that he is hiding something too. What really happened the night his sister died, when a little boy with freckles on his nose made a terrible mistake? And if Erin untangles the web of deceit between mother and son, does she risk learning something unforgiveable about the person she has come to love very deeply?


A heart-wrenching but uplifting page-turner about a family ripped apart by guilt and lies, and forgiveness. Set against the storms of the Cornish coast and silvery tropical sands of a distant paradise, The Butterfly Garden is a story of love, loss and letting go. Fans of Jojo Moyes, Harriet Evans and Lucinda Riley will be gripped.


What everyone’s saying about The Butterfly Garden:


Had me hooked from the start. A wonderful story, which brought on an array of emotions’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


I loved this book from beginning to end… a wonderful sweeping story of grief, regrets and hidden secrets…will keep you hooked, with some very poignant and emotional parts that’ll have you reaching for the tissues. I loved it. A fabulous debut novel’ A Book ‘n Brew 2 Blog, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Beautifully written… a captivating story you won’t want to miss.’ Sandrina Reads, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘A moving and heartfelt story with lots of family secrets. You will need your tissues ready. I enjoyed this powerful story.’ My Fiction Book Reviews, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘A wonderful story of friendships, secrets and families… this powerful story drew me in… perfection… A fabulous debut novel, I look forward to reading the next one.’ StefLoz Books, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


An absolutely delightful novel… From Cornwall to Costa Rica, this book delights over and over… The Butterfly Garden has it all.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘An absolutely delightful novel… This author can somehow capture your attention from the first page and before you know it you’re at the end of an awesome book!’ Avid Reader


Once I started reading I didn’t want to stop!’ Netgalley reviewer


I was completely absorbed in The Butterfly Garden from beginning to end… I loved the way the book carefully unravelled the secrets at its centre… had me thinking about the story and the characters long after I had finished reading. Highly recommended’ Beth Miller


Moving and heartfelt… I really enjoyed it’ My Fiction Book Reviews, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘A delightful story’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

GENRE
Romance
RELEASED
2021
June 21
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
395
Pages
PUBLISHER
Bookouture
SELLER
StoryFire Ltd
SIZE
3.1
MB

Customer Reviews

Moosech ,

Wonderful story of family and forgiveness

When Erin looses the man she loves, she leaves London and goes to Cornwall where she takes a job at Hookes End. Maggie owns the house, is very frail, and has been living a very reclusive life. She keeps to herself, and is a butterfly enthusiast. Erin and Maggie quickly become friends, and as they are trading stories of their past, they soon realize the reason they met, to help each other get over past hurts. Maggie’s son Lucas ran away many years ago after Maggie blamed him for the death of his sister. Maggie is desperate to see Lucas. Erin, wants to give Maggie the peace that she deserves, and so she leaves Cornwall and travels to Costa Rica to see if she can find Lucas. Erin is such a peacemaker, and makes it her mission to help Maggie and Lucas heal as a family. The plot twists and turns will keep you flipping through the pages at a rapid pace. I thoroughly enjoyed this story, the well developed characters and the vivid details of Cornwall and Costa Rica. I loved learning new facts about butterflies. What a wonderfully written story, this book hits all the emotions and definitely pulls at the heartstrings in a massive way.

Thank you Sophie Anderson for such a wonderful story. This story had all the feels of love, family, friendship, family secrets and forgiveness. I highly recommend this book.

princezz24789 ,

Beautifully Written

Families, secrets, and the pain the secrets inflict on both the secret keeper and the ones that the secrets are about. I thoroughly enjoyed this book, it’s all about families, tragedy, and misguided blame. If you like a story about redemption, emotional growth, and forgiveness, this is the book for you.

Erin finds herself at a crossroads after she returns to her small village in Cornwall, after following her married lover to London, and finding out he will never leave his wife and daughter, she returns to her home and searches for work. Finding an advertisement for “Eyes Wanted”, she finds employment with a reclusive novelist who lives in a huge house named Hooks End. Surly and unwelcoming at first, Maggie Muir doesn’t want any intrusions in her life, but with a brain tumor stealing her sight, she needs Erin to help her finish her final novel. The two women forge an unlikely friendship and Erin will do anything to help her new friend with her final dying wish.

This book is all about family secrets and the consequences of keeping them and not allowing forgiveness. It’s beautifully written, and the characters are well developed and I found myself caring about them and how they grow and deal with the consequences of these secrets. I found the pacing of the book to be good, a bit slow in the middle, but not enough to deter me.

I recommend this book to anyone interested in family drama, secrets, and personal growth.

I received a complimentary copy of this book. Opinions expressed in this review are completely my own.

Annette414 ,

Good book

Erin goes to work for Maggie, helping her with her final book. Erin realizes Maggie has a secret and Maggie inadvertently spills another one belonging to Erin’s parents.
In the beginning of the book I didn’t really care for any of the characters. As the book goes on they change and I really want to know what happens to them. I enjoyed the story.
Thanks to the publisher and Netgalley for the early copy

More Books by Sophie Anderson