• $4.99

Publisher Description

"The Catalain Book of Secrets opens with a bang and keeps on firing off the unexpected. Think Charles deLint or Alice Hoffman...spell-binding." ―Midwest Book Review

Faith Falls is a snug little Minnesota town constructed over a mystery, a place where the most impressive building is a gorgeous Queen Anne with turrets, cantilevered gables, and a wraparound porch. In a concealed room beneath the twisting stairs of the Queen Anne lies the Catalain Book of Secrets, the repository of the wisdom the Catalain women have gathered since the beginning of time.

Ursula Catalain, current keeper of the Book of Secrets, is content to concoct spells in her garden cottage until the ghost of the man she murdered appears at her door in a new form. His return pulls Jasmine, Ursula's daughter, back into the fold. Once the most powerful of the Catalains, Jasmine foreswore her gift to bury a shameful secret. 

The ghost of the murdered man also calls home Katrine, Jasmine's sister, who's been banished for fourteen years. Finally able to return to Faith Falls and the beloved Queen Anne, Katrine must claim the Catalain power she's spent her whole life running from if she is to save her mother and sister from the murdered man’s curse.

Told in a majestic mosaic of strong women's voices, The Catalain Book of Secrets weaves together alchemy, hope, tragedy, and true love to spin a tale in the style of Garden Spells, Eva Luna, and Practical Magic. If you enjoyed The Catalain Book of Secrets, you'll love Seven Daughters, a Book of Secrets novella featuring the beloved Catalain family and never-before-seen spells.

"Prolific mystery writer Lourey tells of a matriarchal clan of witches joining forces against age-old evil...The novel is tightly plotted, and Lourey shines when depicting relationships--romantic ones as well as tangled links between Catalains.” ―Kirkus Reviews

“Exquisitely written…” Publishers Weekly

Fiction & Literature
June 3
Toadhouse Books
Toadhouse Books, LLC

More Books by Jessica Lourey