• $8.99

Publisher Description

From New York Times bestselling author Amy Ewing (The Jewel) comes the exciting first book in a new fantasy duology. Rich, vivid world-building and ethereal magic combine in an epic tale that’s perfect for fans of Snow Like Ashes, These Broken Stars, or Magonia.

Sera Lighthaven has always felt as if she didn’t quite belong among her people, the Cerulean, who live in the City Above the Sky. She is curious about everything—especially the planet that her City is magically tethered to—and can’t stop questioning things. Sera has always longed for the day when the tether will finally break and the Cerulean can move to a new planet.

But when Sera is chosen as the sacrifice to break the tether, she feels betrayed by everything in which she’d been taught to trust. In order to save her City, Sera must end her own life.

But something goes wrong, and Sera survives, ending up on the planet below in a country called Kaolin. Sera has heard tales about the dangerous humans who live here, and she quickly learns that these dangers were not just stories.

Meanwhile, back in the City, all is not what it seems, and the life of every Cerulean may be in danger if Sera is not able to find a way home.

GENRE
Young Adult
RELEASED
2019
January 29
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
496
Pages
PUBLISHER
HarperTeen
SELLER
HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS
SIZE
2
MB
AUDIENCE
Ninth Grade

Customer Reviews

JuJuOnTheBooks ,

Such a let down

The story had so much potential and started off so strong, but then slowly lost its luster. I ended up not finishing half-way.

Story starts off in Sera’s world, which is the best part of the book in my opinion. Sera’s world consists of being human-like aliens who live in the sky in an all female world. The author establishes what they call a “triad” love system where the women marry in trios, reproduces and then care for a child together. They all have white/silvery skin with blue hair and blue eyes. Sera is chosen to be sacrificed due to religious obligations, but somehow survives. She always felt “different” from her peers, bc she’s never been attracted her own kind. But when she goes to the “human” world, she somehow finds an attraction towards men and realizes that her “different” quality is actually being straight. *face palm*

In the “human” world, we meet biracial and fraternal twins. The brother that passes as white, is ridiculed for being so as their country consists of powerful brown folks. The sister that passes as brown, is actually a lesbian (a taboo in their culture) and must hide this from her people. The brown folks are described to be cold, ruthless, conservative and extremely patriarchal; while the white folks are much more liberal, accepting of gender equality and different sexual orientations.

I understand the intent of the author, there was a good story here. But she lost me at the reversal homophobia and racism.

More Books by Amy Ewing