The Children of Berlin

An absolutely gripping and heartbreaking World War 2 historical novel

    • 3.8 • 5 Ratings
    • $3.99
    • $3.99

Publisher Description

‘I will never forgive you! You had a choice. You could have listened to your mother, your brother, your father, but you chose to listen to those monsters. And that choice remains with you. Forever.’



Leah and Magda are like sisters. In their block of flats in Berlin, they have only ever had each other to rely on. Each other, and Magda’s brother Markus. Nothing could have torn them apart. Until Hitler gains power…



Leah could never imagine either of her best friends supporting the Nazis. Because Leah is Jewish. And she has heard the whispers of what’s been happening to her people. The threats. The disappearances. Rumours of deportation to dark places no one returns from…



But then Magda does the unthinkable. She joins the Hitler Youth. Leah’s blood runs cold – how could someone she loves so much do this to her? Leah tries desperately to make her best friend see sense, but Magda is blinded by the promises of a great and powerful Germany.



Leah realises that her once sister, is now her deadliest enemy. With people vanishing around her, Leah is terrified she’s next. How far will Magda go to prove her loyalty to her Führer?



But Magda always underestimated her brother, and Markus has sworn he’ll do anything to save Leah and her family. Even risk his own life. And he knows infiltrating the party is the only way… But will Magda see through his lie? Is he already far too late to stop her?



A powerful and heartbreaking novel about love, family, betrayal and sacrifice perfect for fans of The Alice Network, The White Rose Network, The Tattooist of Auschwitz and The Nightingale.



Readers love The Children of Berlin:



Phenomenal… I almost don’t know where to begin… left me speechless. I loved everything about this heartbreaking and powerfully intense bookunputdownablehad me reaching for the tissue box over and overheart wrenching… needs to be at the very top of your 'to be read pile’. I highly recommend this ten star read.’ Page Turners, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐



I couldn't put it down and finished it in a dayWhat an absolute cracker of a book!!!… Sucked me straight in… absolutely addictive page turnerabsolutely absorbed me… compelling, page-turningwill keep you up late at night.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐



‘A masterpiece told so beautifully it had me enthralled reading late into the night… The story was gripping and terrifying… I went on a rollercoaster ride of emotions and I feel that the ending though heartbreaking was the perfect conclusion.’ @leannebookstagram, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐



Had me glued to my kindle from the moment I started it and I devoured every chapter… this book had everything I love about this genre… brought tears to my eyes… A heartbreaking read… I 100% recommend this book for fans of historical fiction.’ @leonaomahony, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐



Powerful and heartbreaking… sure to leave readers with a deep appreciation for the resilience of the human spirit… a must-read for anyone who loves WWII historical fiction… I’ve read many novels in this genre, and this one is right at the top!Rachel Bustin, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐



I couldn't put this book aside. I read it holding my breath, I cried, I hated, I loved, I understood… I think I have gone through every emotion there is… swept me away and even writing this review I'm overwhelmed with emotions. If I could I would give it 10 stars.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐



Completely gripped by this remarkable and addictive page-turnerso beautiful and wonderful. I was totally immersed… masterfully done. Crafting of the characters was so deftly done that I will always carry them with me… powerful and heartbreaking.’ @rubie_reads, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐



Oh, my, where to begin?… I have never read a book quite like this one… a very powerful, tense, and heart-rending novel. A must for readers of historical fiction.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐



Touched my heartwonderful… one that will stay with me!... Held my attention right to the end. The book took me through quite few emotions… heart-wrenching at times but so well done.’ Donna’s Book Blog, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐



Powerful and gut-wrenching.’ @stamperlady50, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2023
June 22
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
474
Pages
PUBLISHER
Bookouture
SELLER
Carmelite House
SIZE
4.2
MB

More Books Like This

2013
2021
2013
2008
2023
2013

More Books by Sharon Maas

2019
2018
2020
2014
2021
2021

Customers Also Bought

2024
2023
2019
2023
2022
2023