• Pre-Order
    • Expected Mar 10, 2021
    • $2.99

Publisher Description

One day you will understand that the heart is only as fragile as the choices we make. I tell you this now—we will make surprising decisions for love. Ones that can tear our heart out and leave us begging for answers. The most painful choice I’ve ever made, my dearest, was to say goodbye to you.


The last few months haven’t been easy for Julie. Her marriage is under strain following the trauma of another failed pregnancy and her high-pressure job is beginning to take its toll. Then Julie’s mother falls ill, and she has no choice but to return to Wood Violet, her parents’ resort in Wisconsin. She hopes that taking a break from the city will give her and husband Tristan a chance to heal.


But, on arriving home, Julie realizes the situation is far worse than she thought. Her mother, once the life and soul of the resort, can barely speak, and her father is struggling to keep the business afloat. Yet returning to the idyllic site of her childhood, surrounded by old friends and her first love, Julie starts to feel a sense of peace she’d thought she’d lost forever.


Then Julie stumbles upon an eighteen-year-old girl hiding out in an abandoned cabin. The girl, Margaret, seems lost in the world, and Julie takes her under her wing. But when Julie finds letters and a drawing in Margaret’s backpack, she realizes the girl hasn’t told her the whole truth about why she’s here.


If Margaret finds what she’s looking for, it could expose a long-buried secret that could tear Julie’s family apart and drive the resort into the ground for good. And as the summer draws to a close, Julie must make a choice: will she return to Chicago with the man she married, or stay and fight for her parents and the home she loves?

 

Lose yourself in a life-affirming tale about love, betrayal and finding your true home, from the bestselling author of The Lighthouse Keeper. Fans of Mary Ellen Taylor, Barbara O’Neal and This is Not How it Ends will adore Cynthia Ellingsen’s captivating novel.



Why readers love Cynthia Ellingsen:

I loved this book so very much!! I didn't want it to end! It kept me engaged the entire time! Highly recommend!” Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Outstanding!… I loved how the story kept you on the edge of your seat with anticipation and mystery all the way until the end. What a great story!” Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Couldn't put it down. Finished in two days… the storyline and the rich characters reel you in. A must read! Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Omg it was fantastic. Family drama, a very fun mystery, and romance all rolled into one. This was a great escape and I enjoyed every minute of it!” Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Loved Loved Loved… So many laugh out loud moments as well as sweet eye-watering ones.” Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


“Perfectly paced with just enough intrigue, danger & sexual tension to keep you turning the pages late into the night. A well-written journey of self discovery and familial redemption. The big screen is calling for this one!” Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


“I was captivated… It took everything I had to bookmark a new chapter and get some sleep… I would recommend this book to anyone who likes mystery, adventure and love stories all in one book… a book I didn’t want to quit reading.” Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


“I love her writing style. Ms. Ellingsen makes you feel like you there in the story as it unfolds.” Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
AVAILABLE
2021
March 10
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
388
Pages
PUBLISHER
Bookouture
SELLER
StoryFire Ltd
SIZE
2.5
MB

More Books by Cynthia Ellingsen