The Clincher

A Horseshoer Mystery

    • 4.1 • 201 Ratings
    • $16.99
    • $16.99

Publisher Description

The first book in the Horseshoer Mystery series by bestselling novelist Lisa Preston featuring farrier and amateur detective Rainy Dale, for fans of William Kent Kruger and Craig Johnson.

Rainy Dale is The Clincher, a twenty-something high school-dropout turned farrier (horseshoer) who is haunted by a secret she carries. Estranged from her California D-list actress momma and her ranch hand Texas daddy, she tracked down her childhood horse in small-town Oregon—a land full of cowboys and their horses—then stayed to build a life with her tools, steel, and forge. She's sleeping in a garage and trying not to fall for her landlord, the hapless and hopeful chef, Guy, who is determined to create the perfect soufflé while Rainy would prefer to just stuff her mouth with fuel for her physically demanding job.

As the new kid in town, Rainy has an uphill battle to prove herself in order to make a living by her trade, especially to her male clients who look down their noses at a female farrier. She finds herself in over her head, however, when one of her clients turns up dead, setting her up as both a suspect and a seeker of the truth. If she plans on setting down roots in her new town, Rainy will have to find the killer and clear her name. But it a country as wild as the mustangs that used to run free, finding the truth just might get her killed.

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
RELEASED
2018
November 6
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
288
Pages
PUBLISHER
Skyhorse
SELLER
SIMON AND SCHUSTER DIGITAL SALES INC
SIZE
1.6
MB

Customer Reviews

bjs70 ,

The Clincher

Interesting story. It kept me wondering who the bad guy was for a long time. But there were a lot of grammar and punctuation errors that were annoying.

karenmce ,

Love Horses? Why, Yes I Do!

Rainy Dale, female farrier, energetic enigma and animal advocate, shines as the protagonist is this first in series! She carries a lot of guilt and many secrets which she covers up with much brusqness, bordering on rudeness. I really like this determined woman and anticipate following her adventures!

mvwpd ,

Horseshoeing

This is a very interesting mystery involving a horseshoeing woman. It actually involves a double mystery in that a woman is killed and a horse is stolen. There is quite a bit of information given about shoeing a horse. I could not put this book down until i had read every page.

More Books by Lisa Preston

2020
2012
2021
2019
2016

Customers Also Bought

2018
2016
2016
2018
2016
2016

Other Books in This Series