• $13.99

Publisher Description

From legendary character actor Stephen Tobolowsky, comes a collection of memoiristic pieces about life, love, acting, and adventure, told with a beguiling voice and an uncommon talent for storytelling.

The Dangerous Animals Club by Stephen Tobolowsky is a series of stories that form a non-linear autobiography. Each story stands on its own, and yet there are larger interconnecting narratives that weave together from the book's beginning to end. The stories have heroics and embarrassments, riotous humor and pathos, characters that range from Bubbles the Pigmy Hippo to Stephen's unforgettable mother, and scenes that include coke-fueled parties, Hollywood sets, French trains, and hospital rooms.

Told in a vivid, honest, and wondrous voice, Tobolowsky manages to render the majestic out of the seemingly mundane, profundity from the patently absurd, and grace from tragedy. This book marks the debut of a massively talented storyteller.

GENRE
Biographies & Memoirs
RELEASED
2012
September 25
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
352
Pages
PUBLISHER
Simon & Schuster
SELLER
SIMON AND SCHUSTER DIGITAL SALES INC
SIZE
9.6
MB

Customer Reviews

Raven Caller ,

Garrison Keillor for the Next Generation

Stephen has nailed the art of telling a good story, and he always has a message at the end worthy of contemplation. My favorite story is the one he tells about his triumph over a teacher set out to seek his removal from the acting program in college. A tale of survival like no other. A struggle of identity, and victory over not only others, but one's own dedication to their craft and life.

Stephen follows in the tradition of David Sedaris, Garrison Keillor, and David Foster Wallace. Telling stories that make us laugh, cry, sigh, and remember. That's what a good story is all about.

Valandil93 ,

Fantastic Book

Humorous, inspiring, and passionately written. I recomend this for everyone.

More Books by Stephen Tobolowsky