• $3.99

Publisher Description

As I walk into the stark white house in the shadow of the pine trees, I can’t help but feel uneasy. I’ve always imagined what it would have been like to meet my birth mother before she died. Or to return, a lost daughter, to Avalon Springs, the place where I should have been raised. But nothing prepared me for this…


I should have realized something was wrong when I saw the way people looked at me in the hotel that morning. The way they glanced at my daughter Madison and the fearful look in their eyes when they found out I had inherited the old family home.

 

Then I find a jewelry box in my mother’s room. It sits covered in blue satin, hidden away in dust, untouched for years. And the contents inside change everything.


In my gut I know I need to admit this was a mistake, take my children by the hand and forget about my past forever. But now I’ve started digging I know that it’s impossible to leave…

 

A gripping and emotional novel about what it means to belong. The Daughter She Lost is perfect for fans of Kerry Fisher, Diane Chamberlain and Liane Moriarty.

 

What readers are saying about The Daughter She Lost:

“A definite must read. Pulled on my heartstrings… I was pulled into the lies, secrets and family drama and felt as though I was part of it. Lauren blew me away with this one.” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


I was completely entranced… As the pages turned, my innards shivered deliciously wanting to know the truth… Absolutely wicked. And the emotions... Oh man, I could feel them in every word especially in the last 30%. And that made me devour the book in one setting.” Book Reviews by Shalini, 5 stars

 

“Not very often do I give five stars to a book but this one certainly deserves it!… Lots of twists and turns throughout and the ending is just phenomenal and totally unexpected! For me this is the perfect book because it encompasses everything that I look for and seldom find.” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

“I absolutely adored this book. The characters were so real that it sucked you in and made you feel a part of the story. You didn't want it to end!” Goodreads reviewer


“The first page already made me pull the box of tissues closer to me... An emotional story… makes you want to weep… Keeps you captivated.” B is for Book Review, 5 stars


What a suspenseful, shocking story full of family secrets. I could not put this book down! My favorite part of the book was the ending that I didn’t see coming… Am definitely a huge fan now!” Goodreads reviewer


“When the truth is revealed at the end of the book it is a shocking twist that you will never guess is coming. I stayed up until wee hours of the morning because I just had to know how it ended… This was some good reading, you will be glad you picked it up and read it.” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2020
March 27
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
397
Pages
PUBLISHER
Bookouture
SELLER
StoryFire Ltd
SIZE
4.1
MB

Customer Reviews

MrsM22 ,

An ideal mix of contemporary women's fiction and suspense.

Unless you've experienced finding out, as an adult, that you're adopted and have inherited a house from your deceased birth family in a far-away small town, then neither you or I can even begin to imagine the distress of Amanda Fielding.

The Daughter She Lost is a heartening tale of one woman's journey to discover her heritage. I enjoyed following along Amanda's narration as she connected to those in the town of Avalon Springs. While navigating the many trials of motherhood, Amanda launches her own investigations into what truly happened to her birth mother, Angie. She'd also intended to find out her late grandmother's secretive motives for giving Amanda up for adoption as well as uncovering the identity of her birth father. Eventually, she discovers that, sometimes, the truth can be a hard pill to swallow.

Westwood's writing brings about powerful emotions, as Angie's story is slowly unearthed. I was sad for her and everything she'd gone thru, only to be taken away too soon. While I did enjoy Amanda, overall, I do wish more time was spent on furthering the reader's connection with the supporting characters. I wanted to welcome Linda and Frances but found them hard to relate to, and a tad bit annoying. In retrospect, their personalities make a lot more sense after their histories come to light. The ending, however, came about differently then I had imagined, yet satisfying all the same... sometimes those are the best though, aren't they? The tales of unexpected solace.

I would recommend this book to the wanderers of the bookish world, not lost, but rather in search of a particular set of pages to get lost in... an ideal mix of contemporary women's fiction and suspense.

Thank you to NetGalley, the publisher Bookouture, and the author Lauren Westwood for providing me with a complimentary copy of this title in exchange for an honest review.

More Books by Lauren Westwood