The Dead Woman of Deptford

A gripping Victorian crime mystery

    • 4.7 • 9 Ratings
    • $0.99
    • $0.99

Publisher Description

The sixth gripping Victorian crime mystery in Ann Granger's Inspector Ben Ross series.

On a cold November night in a Deptford yard, dock worker Harry Parker stumbles upon the body of a dead woman. Inspector Ben Ross is summoned from Scotland Yard to this insalubrious part of town, but no witness to the murder of this well-dressed, middle-aged woman can be found. Even Jeb Fisher, the local rag-and-bone man, swears he's seen nothing.

Meanwhile, Ben's wife Lizzie is trying to suppress a scandal: family friend Edgar Wellings has a gambling addiction and no means of repaying his debts. Reluctantly, Lizzie agrees to visit his debt collector's house in Deptford, but when she arrives she finds her husband is investigating the murder of the woman in question.

Edgar was the last man to see Mrs Clifford alive and he has good reason to want her dead, but Ben and Lizzie both know that a case like this is rarely as simple as it appears...

A spellbinding Victorian crime mystery, perfect for fans of M. R. C. Kasasian and Susanna Calkins.

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
RELEASED
2020
February 3
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
359
Pages
PUBLISHER
Canelo
SELLER
Canelo Digital Publishing Limited
SIZE
454.3
KB

Customer Reviews

SCIONSBOB ,

A strong base of characters.

A strong base of characters. I enjoy seeing how they’re woven throughout the storyline. And the historical flavor
Brings you right in with them,I can visualize being in the mix if you will.

More Books by Ann Granger

2018
2020
2018
2018
2018
2018

Customers Also Bought

2019
2014
2014
2011
2014
2015

Other Books in This Series

2020
2021
2020
2020
2020
2020