• $4.99

Publisher Description

He can't breathe. The choker is tight around his neck and attached to a short chain, and he can't stand forever. As his legs begin to buckle, he calls out into the dark, "Why are you doing this?" Soon all goes black…

Fed rat poison and left to die, a man's body is found in the back alley of a bakery in Denver, Colorado. Detective Mack McClellan is assigned the investigation and soon discovers a similarity between the background of the murdered man and that of other men who have been reported missing in the area. These men have yet to be found, but McClellan doesn't expect them to turn up alive. He calls on the FBI Behavioral Analysis Unit to assist because he's quite sure the city has a serial killer.

Special Agent Brandon Fisher and his team fly in to help, but it's not long before there is another victim. Clyde Ellis was strapped to the bumper of his truck and dragged along a stretch of road—the same thing he had done to his dog. An idea of what's going on begins to take shape, and while the killer's method of murder is ever-changing, the FBI is quite certain of one constant. The evidence is pointing toward a vigilante killer who is on a mission to clean up society and exact punishment on his victims for their sins. The FBI will need to act quickly or there will most certainly be more death. But as the team continues to uncover the killer's secrets, the case becomes more dangerous than ever, and their quest to save lives may very well result in the loss of one of their own.

The Defenseless is a totally gripping psychological thriller that will have readers turning the pages to unravel every twist. Buy this international bestselling book today and hunt a serial killer alongside the FBI! Perfect for fans of Catherine Coulter, JT Ellison, and Patricia Cornwell.

Readers love The Defenseless:

"Clever writing, character development and intensity."
"Fast-paced."
"Fantastic read. Lots of twists and turns."
"Pace was great and kept me in suspense until the end!"
"I am totally hooked."
"Enthralling investigative thriller."
"Well-written, intriguing, and interesting."
"What a story! Page-turner, yes!"
"The storyline and development of characters kept my interest through to the last page. I had a hard time putting it down."
"I love this writing style; I feel like I'm part of the book."

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
RELEASED
2014
December 11
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
251
Pages
PUBLISHER
Hibbert & Stiles Publishing Inc.
SELLER
Draft2Digital, LLC
SIZE
2.6
MB

Customer Reviews

Lfenlock ,

The Defenseless

I'm a dog lover but I was somewhat taken back by the Advocate's justice. I also got a little confused, seemed like there were a lot of characters and suspects. I had to re-read a few things to keep it straight but I did enjoy the book.

GGRANNY. ,

The Defenseless

I love these books. Cant put them down. I am right in there with the characters. Got to read them all.

Harleysof1972 ,

The Defenseless

Great book!

More Books by Carolyn Arnold

Other Books in This Series