The Devil To Pay The Devil To Pay

The Devil To Pay

    • 4.4 • 231 Ratings
    • $3.99
    • $3.99

Publisher Description

Italy, 1492.

A ruthless mercenary skilled in the art of conquest. 

An heiress who refuses to be tamed. 

The Devil’s own bargain . . . 

 

Cara di Montessori has a price upon her head. Her traitorous uncle has murdered her father and seized her home. Her only hope of survival, and of regaining her birthright, is an alliance with her childhood nemesis, the infamous mercenary Il Diavolo. The most irritating—and seductive—man Cara’s ever met.


Battle hardened and world-weary, Alessandro del Sarto has earned the sobriquet Il Diavolo. He needs a politically expedient marriage to secure the lasting peace he craves,

but the simpering ladies of court hold little interest. More than anything, he longs for a challenge.

 

Headstrong beauty Cara has always been Il Diavolo’s only weakness, the one woman he’s never been able to forget. When she appears at his door begging for help, the two strike a devil’s bargain. In return for his assistance, for two weeks Cara must entertain his guests, relieve his boredom—and warm his bed. 

 

Cara has no intention of succumbing to del Sarto’s studied seduction, but the passion that simmers between them is more potent than her paper twists of gunpowder. Surrounded by danger and intrigue, she must choose between what she’s always thought of as her destiny, and what could be the greatest prize of all—her heart’s desire.

 

From #1 Bestselling author K C Bateman comes a sexy romantic adventure filled with passion, vengeance, and redemption.

 

 

Praise for K. C. Bateman’s novels:

 

“A masterclass in smoking hot sexual tension . . . entertaining, fast-paced and sexy . . . “ —All About Romance on The Devil To Pay.

 

“The sexual chemistry between the two built so steadily that I thought I would go up in flames if they didn’t stop battling each other and give in to their needs.”—Kilts and Swords

 

 

 “The writing and characterization are superb, the romance is hot, snarky and tender and the hero is delicious. I couldn’t ask for much more in an historical romance!”

—All About Romance for To Steal A Heart.

 

“5* . . . . incredibly sexy . . .deliciously wicked.” 

—Rakes & Rascals for A Counterfeit Heart.



Perfect for readers who love Loretta Chase, Julia Quinn, Caroline Linden, Janna MacGregor, Scarlett Peckham, Laura Kinsale, Kerrigan Byrne, Lisa Kleypas, Courtney Milan, Tessa Dare, Eloisa James, Grace Burrowes, Madeline Hunter, Lenora Bell, Sophie Jordan, Lorraine Heath, Eva Leigh, Mary Jo Putney, Jo Beverley, Joanna Shupe, Sarah MacLean, Shana Galen, Stephanie Laurens, and Sabrina Jeffries.

GENRE
Romance
RELEASED
2018
August 28
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
344
Pages
PUBLISHER
Kate Bateman
SELLER
Kate Charlotte Larkins
SIZE
2.1
MB

Customer Reviews

sbsbrinson ,

The Devil to Pay

Loved this story! Great characters and wonderful story in this historical romance!

raeleigh000 ,

THe devil to pay

Well written and well proofread. The heroine is feisty and strong. She’s written so we know how she feels and why she does what she does. The hero is a schmuck. Altho we learn he cares for Cara while they are making love, he never lets her know and presents as uncaring and disrespectful. I remember reading stories with men like this back in the 70s. I much prefer a contemporary writing style, even for an historical novel.

oo4chelle ,

Meh

Didn’t even make it to the halfway point. Tedious at best.

More Books Like This

The Devil in Her Bed The Devil in Her Bed
2021
A Raven's Heart A Raven's Heart
2016
Burning Up Burning Up
2010
Laird of Steel Laird of Steel
2023
Seducing the Sun Fae: A Fada Novel Seducing the Sun Fae: A Fada Novel
2015
Forever His Forever His
2011

More Books by K. C. Bateman

To Steal A Heart To Steal A Heart
2016
A Raven's Heart A Raven's Heart
2016
A Counterfeit Heart A Counterfeit Heart
2017
A Midnight Clear A Midnight Clear
2019
The Promise Of A Kiss The Promise Of A Kiss
2019
Secrets & Spies Box Set Secrets & Spies Box Set
2021

Customers Also Bought

Wedding Violet Wedding Violet
2019
Too Brazen to Bite Too Brazen to Bite
2020
The Heart of an Earl The Heart of an Earl
2020
When One Door Closes When One Door Closes
2019
Whom Shall I Kiss... An Earl, A Marquess, or A Duke? Whom Shall I Kiss... An Earl, A Marquess, or A Duke?
2019
Why the Earl is After the Girl Why the Earl is After the Girl
2021