The Devil To Pay

    • 4.5 • 126 Ratings
    • $3.99
    • $3.99

Publisher Description

Italy, 1492.

A ruthless mercenary skilled in the art of conquest. 

An heiress who refuses to be tamed. 

The Devil’s own bargain . . . 

 

Cara di Montessori has a price upon her head. Her traitorous uncle has murdered her father and seized her home. Her only hope of survival, and of regaining her birthright, is an alliance with her childhood nemesis, the infamous mercenary Il Diavolo. The most irritating—and seductive—man Cara’s ever met.


Battle hardened and world-weary, Alessandro del Sarto has earned the sobriquet Il Diavolo. He needs a politically expedient marriage to secure the lasting peace he craves,

but the simpering ladies of court hold little interest. More than anything, he longs for a challenge.

 

Headstrong beauty Cara has always been Il Diavolo’s only weakness, the one woman he’s never been able to forget. When she appears at his door begging for help, the two strike a devil’s bargain. In return for his assistance, for two weeks Cara must entertain his guests, relieve his boredom—and warm his bed. 

 

Cara has no intention of succumbing to del Sarto’s studied seduction, but the passion that simmers between them is more potent than her paper twists of gunpowder. Surrounded by danger and intrigue, she must choose between what she’s always thought of as her destiny, and what could be the greatest prize of all—her heart’s desire.

 

From #1 Bestselling author K C Bateman comes a sexy romantic adventure filled with passion, vengeance, and redemption.

 

 

Praise for K. C. Bateman’s novels:

 

“A masterclass in smoking hot sexual tension . . . entertaining, fast-paced and sexy . . . “ —All About Romance on The Devil To Pay.

 

“The sexual chemistry between the two built so steadily that I thought I would go up in flames if they didn’t stop battling each other and give in to their needs.”—Kilts and Swords

 

 

 “The writing and characterization are superb, the romance is hot, snarky and tender and the hero is delicious. I couldn’t ask for much more in an historical romance!”

—All About Romance for To Steal A Heart.

 

“5* . . . . incredibly sexy . . .deliciously wicked.” 

—Rakes & Rascals for A Counterfeit Heart.



Perfect for readers who love Loretta Chase, Julia Quinn, Caroline Linden, Janna MacGregor, Scarlett Peckham, Laura Kinsale, Kerrigan Byrne, Lisa Kleypas, Courtney Milan, Tessa Dare, Eloisa James, Grace Burrowes, Madeline Hunter, Lenora Bell, Sophie Jordan, Lorraine Heath, Eva Leigh, Mary Jo Putney, Jo Beverley, Joanna Shupe, Sarah MacLean, Shana Galen, Stephanie Laurens, and Sabrina Jeffries.

GENRE
Romance
RELEASED
2018
August 28
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
344
Pages
PUBLISHER
Kate Bateman
SELLER
Kate Charlotte Larkins
SIZE
2.2
MB

Customer Reviews

sbsbrinson ,

The Devil to Pay

Loved this story! Great characters and wonderful story in this historical romance!

More Books by K. C. Bateman

2016
2016
2019
2017
2021
2019