The Devil's Dictionary

    • 4.8 • 4 Ratings
    • $14.99
    • $14.99

Publisher Description

New York Times bestselling author Steven Kotler's follow up to Last Tango in Cyberspace, a near-future thriller about the evolution of empathy in the tradition of William Gibson and Neal Stephenson.

Hard to say exactly when the human species fractured. Harder to say when this new talent arrived. But Lion Zorn, protagonist of Last Tango in Cyberspace, is the first of his kind—an empathy tracker, an emotional forecaster, with a felt sense for how culture evolves and the future arrives.

It’s also a useful skill in today’s competitive business market.

In The Devil’s Dictionary, when a routine em-tracking job goes sideways and em-trackers themselves start disappearing, Lion finds himself not knowing who to trust in a life and death race to uncover the truth. And when the trail leads to the world’s first mega-linkage, a continent-wide national park advertised as the best way to stave off environmental collapse, and exotic animals unlike any on Earth start showing up—Lion’s quest for truth becomes a fight for the survival of the species.

Packed with intrigue and heart-pounding action, marked by unforgettable characters and vivid storytelling, filled with science-based brilliance and cult comic touches, The Devil’s Dictionary is Steven Kotler at his thrilling science fiction best.

GENRE
Sci-Fi & Fantasy
RELEASED
2022
April 19
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
320
Pages
PUBLISHER
St. Martin's Publishing Group
SELLER
Macmillan
SIZE
3
MB

Customer Reviews

inaor ,

Extraordinary!

Steven Kotler’s pioneering work in the understanding and synthesis of neurochemistry, biology, and the upper boundaries of human potential coupled with his mastery over storytelling allow Kotler to play in the land of SciFi like no one else. I hope The Devil’s Dictionary becomes just one of many genre-expanding books!

timeappeal ,

Better than some

I thought Last Tango in Cyberspace was better; however, this works if you are pro-nature and/or anti-human. Once you get going it starts to make more sense than at its first few chapters. It is distressing that so many good people have to die to keep the plot moving. That’s an upset. Good research into most of the scientific aspects. Overall, it kept me reading along at a nice pace. Might have been better with a climax earlier leaving enough room for the build up at the end to imply another book coming. Worth the time to read especially if you are into Eco-fiction.

More Books by Steven Kotler

2017
2015
2021
2020
2019
2008

Customers Also Bought

2021
2020
2018
2018
2020
2018