• $9.99

Publisher Description

The fate of the world is in the hands of detective of the supernatural R. F. Jackaby and his intrepid assistant, Abigail Rook. An evil king is turning ancient tensions into modern strife, using a blend of magic and technology to push the earth and the otherworld into a mortal competition. Jackaby and Abigail are caught in the middle as they continue to solve daily mysteries in New Fiddleham, New England—like who’s created the rend between the worlds, how to close it, and why the undead are appearing around town.

At the same time, the romance between Abigail and the shape-shifting police detective Charlie Cane deepens, and Jackaby’s resistance to his feelings for the ghostly lady of 926 Augur Lane, Jenny Cavanaugh, begins to give way. But before the four can think about their own futures, they will have to defeat an evil that wants to destroy the future altogether.
The epic conclusion to the New York Times bestselling Jackaby series features wry humor and a cast of unforgettable characters facing off against their most dangerous, bone-chilling foe ever.

Young Adult
August 22
Algonquin Books
Workman Publishing Co., Inc.
Grades 8-12

Customer Reviews

Mandapere0922 ,

Unexpected ending to wonderful books

Wow I can’t believe this series is over. This last book really had me. I didn’t expect to see certain things happening in this book. I will miss Miss Rook and Mr. Jackaby and even Jenny and Charli.

About Book: The last and fourth book continues where the third book ended. Where Miss Rook and Mr. Jackaby find the Dire king and take him down. And try and help the veil from going down and letting unknown creatures in. I highly recommend these books. Very hard to put these books down.

Taterdigger1 ,

I love the Jackaby series!!! 😍🙌🏻

The books are just amazing and I can't wait to read The Dire King. I've been waiting a long time for this. I have to know what happens!!! The characters are very hard not to love because they are awesome!!! Can't wait till August 22nd!!! Suspense is killing me!!!

More Books by William Ritter

Other Books in This Series