The Dragonbone Chair

Book One of Memory, Sorrow, and Thorn

    • 4.4 • 330 Ratings
    • $9.99
    • $9.99

Publisher Description

“One of my favorite fantasy series.” —George R. R. Martin 
“Groundbreaking.” —Patrick Rothfuss 
“One of the great fantasy epics of all time.” —Christopher Paolini

New York Times-bestselling Tad Williams’ landmark epic fantasy saga of Osten Ard begins an exciting new cycle with THE WITCHWOOD CROWN, on sale now!

With The Dragonbone Chair, Tad Williams introduced readers to the incredible fantasy world of Osten Ard. His beloved, internationally bestselling series Memory, Sorrow, and Thorn inspired a generation of modern fantasy writers, including George R.R. Martin, Patrick Rothfuss, and Christopher Paolini, and defined Tad Williams as one of the most important fantasy writers of our time.

This edition features a brand-new introduction from Tad Williams' editor as well as the original introduction from Williams himself! 

A war fueled by the powers of dark sorcery is about to engulf the peaceful land of Osten Ard—for Prester John, the High King, lies dying. And with his death, the Storm King, the undead ruler of the elf-like Sithi, seizes the chance to regain his lost realm through a pact with the newly ascended king. Knowing the consequences of this bargain, the king’s younger brother joins with a small, scattered group of scholars, the League of the Scroll, to confront the true danger threatening Osten Ard.
Simon, a kitchen boy from the royal castle unknowingly apprenticed to a member of this League, will be sent on a quest that offers the only hope of salvation, a deadly riddle concerning long-lost swords of power. Compelled by fate and perilous magics, he must leave the only home he’s ever known and face enemies more terrifying than Osten Ard has ever seen, even as the land itself begins to die.
After the landmark Memory, Sorrow, and Thorn trilogy, the epic saga of Osten Ard continues with the brand-new novel, The Heart of What Was Lost. Then don’t miss the upcoming trilogy, The Last King of Osten Ard, beginning with The Witchwood Crown!
Praise for Osten Ard:
“Inspired me to write my own seven-book trilogy.... It’s one of my favorite fantasy series.”
—George R. R. Martin, New York Times-bestselling author of A Game of Thrones
“Groundbreaking...changed how people thought of the genre, and paved the way for so much modern fantasy. Including mine.”
—Patrick Rothfuss, New York Times-bestselling author of The Name of the Wind
"Tad Williams is a master storyteller, and the Osten Ard books are his masterpiece." —Brandon Sanderson, New York Times-bestselling author of Mistborn

“Memory, Sorrow, and Thorn is one of the great fantasy epics of all time.”
—Christopher Paolini, New York Times-bestselling author of Eragon

Sci-Fi & Fantasy
October 25

Customer Reviews

rlyrly ,

Dragon Bone Chair

I've read this at least three times and have recently been considering reading it yet again. Lo and behold, here I find as digital download but at an horrendous price. You can pick this up at Borders for $7.99 and with their frequent coupons..... way cheap. What's up with this price for a book that has been out many years?! There needs to some semblance of reasonableness in pricing on this and many other books though out the digital book publishing industry and till there is, the mighty paperback will reign because it is still small easily portable!

SonofArathorn79 ,

So many errors

You'll get 5 stars when you fix all the typos and spelling errors. "Councif of the prince? You've got to be joking. A disgrace.

redrex383 ,

I'm rating the story, not the price

This is not an in-depth review, unfortunately, because it's been over a decade since I've read this series, but it was one of the best reading experiences of my life. I lost the paper books about eight years ago when I moved out of state so I just downloaded it and I was happy to pay the price.

My favorite author is Robert Jordan (R.I.P.), my favorite recommendation is Game of Thrones (since well before it became a TV show, since the first book came out), but my all time favorite series is this one by Tad Williams. I love epic fantasy, and though it took me a couple chapters to get hooked I fell for this series hard. I mean I fell hard. The rest of Williams' work is good, but nowhere near the level of this "trilogy" (book three is split in two). The combination of imagery, character, and epic drama are strong enough that re-visiting this series brings back smells and sensations I experienced when I first read it--it was winter in a house built of redwood...

Can the book be had cheaper in print? Probably. Sure. Okay. If you read your books in print should you buy that instead? Maybe. For me it's enough that I will never lose this book unless Apple goes under. At some point, if you enjoy epic fantasy, this is absolutely a must own.


More Books by Tad Williams


Customers Also Bought


Other Books in This Series