• $3.99

Publisher Description

Difficult and defiant as a child, Bran Crowther, Earl of Knighton left England as a young man to pursue independence and adventure. He never expected to inherit the title and when duty calls him home, he still finds Society’s codes constricting and others’ expectations oppressive. Nevertheless, he needs a wife to be a mother to his young daughter, preferably a woman of intelligence and warmth who is, above all, immune to his idiosyncrasies—and to falling in love.

Widow Joanna Shaw isn’t interested in a second marriage, not after the loveless, passionless union she endured. She’d much rather dote on her young niece and nephew since they will likely be the only children in her life...until she meets a precocious girl, in desperate need of a mother. But her father, the so-called Duke of Defiance, is as peculiar as he is handsome, and Jo won’t take another risk with her heart. Their rules, however, are made to be broken, even when the consequences could destroy them both.

June 27
Darcy Burke
Darcy Burke

Customer Reviews

magslujan ,

The Duke of Defiance

A very good book, I really enjoyed reading it a lot, I loved the characters and I loved the extended epilogue, I’m so glad it had such a happy ending, this book tells us never to give up on our dreams. I really highly recommend this book by this great author.

Jadeite24 ,

Governesses have more fun.

Joanna Shaw, sister to one Duchess of Kendal, suffered through an abusive marriage and will not risk the chance of having another loveless marriage. She yearns for the only thing that her fruitless marriage has convinced her that she can never be; a mother. Joanna has been living with her sister and doting on her niece and nephew since the death of her husband. So when she meets Evie, a motherless girl who has returned with her father to England against their wishes, she can’t help but intervene.

Bran Crowther, “Duke of Defiance”, returns to England as the Earl of Knighton. As the 3rd son, he’d left England for ports unknown never expecting to return. A series of unfortunate events leads him to inherit the title and he is duty bound to return to the strict society that found him lacking. Not only is he lost to the ways of the ton, he must raise his daughter to be a lady. He needs all the help he can get.

The fifth Untouchables book was a delightful read. Bran’s peccadilloes were intriguing and how denizens of the ton reacted to them was vastly amusing. I love the wit and the humor and especially the ingenuity of 5 year old girls. This, and all the books in this series, are a must read. I eagerly await the Duke of Danger.

I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. I was not compensated for my review, and I was not required to write a positive review. The opinion expressed here is my own.

Peg1951 ,

Best Yet

After what could only be described as an unhappy childhood, Bran Crowther left England and settled in Barbados where her married, had a daughter, and was happy. Bran does not want to be in England, and he does not want to be the Earl of Knighton, but he is. Following her sister’s scandal, Joanna Shaw accepted the first proposal she received and found herself in a miserable, loveless marriage. She dotes on her niece and nephew, but wants a family of her own and a purpose for her life. These two meet as a result of a friendship between her niece and his daughter. They are drawn to each other, but here are a few problems. Will it be possible to move past these hurdles and find love and a happy life? Two very smart and precocious five-year-old girls think so. They see a spark between Bran and Jo, and do their best to fan the flames. Will it work?

The Untouchables is a wonderful series, and The Duke of Defiance is the best book yet. This simple and straightforward story proves once again that our heroes are not untouchable, just in need of the right touch. The new characters are great. Bran is quirky and Evie is intelligent and adorable. Joanna is just what they need, and they are just what she needs

More Books by Darcy Burke

Other Books in This Series