The Eight Mountains The Eight Mountains

The Eight Mountains

A Novel

    • 4.5 • 13 Ratings
    • $12.99
    • $12.99

Publisher Description

*The book that inspired the film The Eight Mountains*

For fans of Elena Ferrante and Paulo Coelho comes a moving and elegant novel about the friendship between two young Italian boys from different backgrounds and how their connection evolves and challenges them throughout their lives.

“Few books have so accurately described the way stony heights can define one's sense of joy and rightness...an exquisite unfolding of the deep way humans may love one another” (Annie Proulx).

Pietro is a lonely boy living in Milan. With his parents becoming more distant each day, the only thing the family shares is their love for the mountains that surround Italy.

While on vacation at the foot of the Aosta Valley, Pietro meets Bruno, an adventurous, spirited local boy. Together they spend many summers exploring the mountains’ meadows and peaks and discover the similarities and differences in their lives, their backgrounds, and their futures. The two boys come to find the true meaning of friendship and camaraderie, even as their divergent paths in life—Bruno’s in the mountains, Pietro’s across the world—test the strength and meaning of their connection.

“A slim novel of startling expansion that subtly echoes its setting” (Vogue), The Eight Mountains is a lyrical coming-of-age story about the power of male friendships and the enduring bond between fathers and sons. “There are no more universal themes than those of the landscape, friendship, and becoming adults, and Cognetti’s writing becomes classical (and elegant) to best tell this story…a true novel by a great writer” (Rolling Stone Italia).

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2018
March 20
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
224
Pages
PUBLISHER
Atria Books
SELLER
Simon & Schuster Digital Sales LLC
SIZE
2.8
MB

More Books Like This

Jayber Crow Jayber Crow
2001
Guardian Guardian
2016
Out Stealing Horses Out Stealing Horses
2012
Sackett Sackett
1981
Modern American Memoirs Modern American Memoirs
2009
Go as a River Go as a River
2023

More Books by Paolo Cognetti

Le otto montagne Le otto montagne
2016
Las ocho montañas Las ocho montañas
2018
The Lovers The Lovers
2022
The Wild Boy The Wild Boy
2019
La felicità del lupo La felicità del lupo
2021
New York è una finestra senza tende New York è una finestra senza tende
2017

Customers Also Bought

I Will Never See the World Again I Will Never See the World Again
2019
Roman Stories Roman Stories
2023
Atonement Atonement
2002
Acqua Alta Acqua Alta
2009
Victory City Victory City
2023
When We Cease to Understand the World When We Cease to Understand the World
2021