The End of Drum-Time The End of Drum-Time

The End of Drum-Time

A Novel

    • 4.2 • 22 Ratings
    • $11.99
    • $11.99

Publisher Description

FINALIST FOR THE 2023 NATIONAL BOOK AWARD

An epic love story in the vein of Cold Mountain and The Great Circle, about a young reindeer herder and a minister’s daughter in the nineteenth century Arctic Circle

In 1851, at a remote village in the Scandinavian tundra, a Lutheran minister known as Mad Lasse tries in vain to convert the native Sámi reindeer herders to his faith. But when one of the most respected herders has a dramatic awakening and dedicates his life to the church, his impetuous son, Ivvár, is left to guard their diminishing herd alone. By chance, he meets Mad Lasse’s daughter Willa, and their blossoming infatuation grows into something that ultimately crosses borders—of cultures, of beliefs, and of political divides—as Willa follows the herders on their arduous annual migration north to the sea.

Gorgeously written and sweeping in scope, Hanna Pylväinen's The End of Drum-Time immerses readers in a world lit by the northern lights, steeped in age-old rituals, and guided by passions that transcend place and time.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2023
January 24
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
368
Pages
PUBLISHER
Henry Holt and Co.
SELLER
Macmillan
SIZE
3.7
MB

More Books Like This

Empire Day Empire Day
2011
Homegoing Homegoing
2016
The Surrendered The Surrendered
2010
The Meaning of Names The Meaning of Names
2014
Home from the Hill Home from the Hill
2015
The Best of the Best; 15 of the Best Novels of All Time The Best of the Best; 15 of the Best Novels of All Time
2012

More Books by Hanna Pylväinen

We Sinners We Sinners
2012
Le Silence des tambours Le Silence des tambours
2023

Customers Also Bought

A Council of Dolls A Council of Dolls
2023
Loot Loot
2023
Mecca Mecca
2022
Glassworks Glassworks
2023
A Door in the Earth A Door in the Earth
2019
This Other Eden: A Novel This Other Eden: A Novel
2023