The Erotics of Restraint

Essays on Literary Form

    • $12.99
    • $12.99

Publisher Description

Why do we read? What do we cherish in a book? What is the nature of a masterpiece? What do Alice Munro, Albert Camus, and the great Polish experimentalist Witold Gombrowicz have in common? In the tradition of Nabokov, Calvino, and Kundera, Douglas Glover’s new essay collection fuses his long experience as an author with his love of philosophy and his passion for form. Call it a new kind of criticism or an operator’s manual for readers and writers, The Erotics of Restraint extends Glover’s long and deeply personal conversation with great books and their authors. With the same dazzling mix of emotion and idea that characterizes his fiction, he dissects narrative and shows us how and why it works, why we love it, and how that makes us human. Erudite and obsessively detailed, inventive, confessional, and cheeky, these essays offer a brilliant clarity, a respite in an age of doubt. They raise the bar.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2019
August 13
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
224
Pages
PUBLISHER
Biblioasis
SELLER
Perseus Books, LLC
SIZE
869.4
KB

More Books by Douglas Glover

2012
2022
2014
2014
2013
2013