The Ever After The Ever After

The Ever After

A Novel

    • 3.5 • 135 Ratings
    • $12.99
    • $12.99

Publisher Description

“Writing with rawness and realism, Pekkanen doesn’t hold back…Fans of Liane Moriarty and Anne Tyler will appreciate the story’s depth.” —Booklist

“In her signature conversational style, Pekkanen uncovers the truth behind the lies as Josie comes to grips with reality vs. the mirage of her marriage.” —Library Journal (starred review)

In this intricate and enthralling domestic drama, perfect for fans of Big Little Lies and The Affair, the internationally bestselling author of the “gossipy page-turner” (Glamour) The Perfect Neighbors goes deep into a marriage in crisis, peeling back layers of secrets to discover where the relationship veered off course—and whether it is worth saving.

Josie and Frank Moore are happy…at least Josie thinks they are. As parents of two young girls in the Chicago suburbs, their days can be both busy and monotonous, and sometimes Josie wonders how she became a harried fortysomething mother rather than the driven career woman she once was. But Frank is a phenomenal father, he’s handsome and charismatic, and he still looks at his wife like she’s the beautiful woman he married more than a decade ago. Josie isn’t just happy—she’s lucky.

Until one Saturday morning when Josie borrows her husband’s phone to make a quick call—and sees nine words that shatter her world.

Now Josie feels as if she is standing at the edge of a sharp precipice. As she looks back at pivotal moments in the relationship she believed would last forever, she is also plunging ahead, surprising everyone (especially herself) with how far she will go to uncover the extent of her husband’s devastating secret.

With her “conversational writing style and a knack for making readers care about her characters” (The Washington Post) bestselling author Sarah Pekkanen paints a vivid, kaleidoscopic portrait of a marriage before and during a crisis—and of a woman who fears that the biggest secret of all may be the one she’s hiding from herself.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2018
June 5
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
272
Pages
PUBLISHER
Washington Square Press
SELLER
Simon & Schuster Digital Sales LLC
SIZE
5.8
MB

Customer Reviews

Metromarzi ,

Boring

I read The Wife Between Us and thought I’d try this too because the first book was pretty good. This is a terrible snooze. I kept waiting for something to happen but nothing happened. Don’t waste your money.

asiablyss ,

Snooze zzzz

Zero character development, very one dimensional, yet could have been good because of a decent plot. The protagonist is just a wife and mother, no interests outside of the home. And all she does is whine and hiss throughout most of the book. Lovely. Can’t recall what the husband does for a living, and Hank the dog had 4 lines in the entire book. Save your money. Snooze, boring and not written very well.

More Books Like This

When Your Mother Doesn't When Your Mother Doesn't
2015
Fly Away Home Fly Away Home
2010
Smart Vs. Pretty Smart Vs. Pretty
2009
A Week of Warm Weather A Week of Warm Weather
2022
Songs Without Words Songs Without Words
2007
The Summer of Good Intentions The Summer of Good Intentions
2015

More Books by Sarah Pekkanen

The Wife Between Us The Wife Between Us
2018
An Anonymous Girl An Anonymous Girl
2019
The Golden Couple The Golden Couple
2022
You Are Not Alone You Are Not Alone
2020
Skipping a Beat Skipping a Beat
2011
The Best of Us The Best of Us
2013

Customers Also Bought

The Other Mrs. Miller The Other Mrs. Miller
2019
Her Pretty Face Her Pretty Face
2018
The First Mistake The First Mistake
2019
The Wife Who Knew Too Much The Wife Who Knew Too Much
2020
The Party The Party
2017
Best Day Ever Best Day Ever
2017