• $2.99

Publisher Description

Kit stared at his fellow questors. “Is this it . . . the End of Everything?”

It started with small, seemingly insignificant wrinkles in time: A busy bridge suddenly disappears, spilling cars into the sea. A beast from another realm roams modern streets. Napoleon’s army appears in 1930s Damascus ready for battle. But that’s only the beginning as entire realities collide and collapse.

The questors are spread throughout the universe. Mina is stuck on a plain of solid ice, her only companion an angry cave lion. Tony and Gianni are monitoring the cataclysmic reversal of the cosmic expansion—but coming up short on answers. And Burleigh is languishing in a dreary underground dungeon—his only hope of survival the very man he tried to murder. 

Kit and Cass are back in the Stone Age trying to reach the Spirit Well. But an enormous yew tree has grown over the portal, effectively cutting off any chance of return. Unless someone can find a solution—and fast—all Creation will be destroyed in the universal apocalypse known as The End of Everything.

In this final volume of the fantastic Bright Empires series, Stephen R. Lawhead brings this multi-stranded tale to a stunning and immensely satisfying conclusion.

“In the sweeping style of George R. R. Martin and J. R. Tolkien, Lawhead has created a diverse universe and rich cast of characters. Multiple story lines weave to form a satisfying ending to this mythological speculative series.” —Library Journal

Sci-Fi & Fantasy
November 11
Thomas Nelson

Customer Reviews

Steve Snediker ,

Lawhead Does It Again

Stephen R. Lawhead's "Bright Empires" Saga and the final installment "The Fatal Tree" was all one could/should expect from a Lawhead work. Intelligent and deeply spiritual (without the trappings of cliché and evangelical leanings) "The Fatal Tree" provoked in me a sense of wonder of things seen and unseen, a heartfelt gratitude for my personal faith, and satisfaction in the consumption. I highly recommend the series and will read it again. Thanks for taking me on this journey of place and time.

More Books by Stephen Lawhead

Other Books in This Series