The Flame Tree The Flame Tree
    • $2.99

Publisher Description

Based on a little-known true story, from award-winning author Siobhan Daiko comes a tale of love and survival against all the odds set in Hong Kong at the start of the Pacific War.

In the spring of 1939, dashing young William Burton and the beautiful Constance Han set sail from London on the same ocean liner to Hong Kong.

Romance blossoms while they enjoy games of deck quoits and spend sultry tropical evenings dancing under the stars. Connie is intrigued by Will’s talent for writing poetry, and she offers to give him Cantonese lessons to help him with his new job— a cadet in the colonial service.

But once in Hong Kong, Connie is constrained by filial duty towards her Eurasian parents, and their wish for her to marry someone from her own background. She can't forget Will however, and arranges to meet him in secret under the magnificent canopy of a flame of the forest tree— where she fulfills her promise to teach him to speak Chinese.

Before too long, trouble looms as Japanese forces gather on the border between Hong Kong and mainland China. Will joins a commando group tasked with operating behind enemy lines, and Connie becomes involved in the fight against local fifth columnists.

When war breaks out, they find themselves drawn into a wider conflict than their battle against prejudice. Can they survive and achieve a future together? Or do forces beyond their control keep them forever apart?

Perfect for readers of Dinah Jefferies, Ann Bennett and Victoria Hislop

Pre order now at new release price, which will rise soon after publication!

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2023
January 19
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
340
Pages
PUBLISHER
Asolando Books
SELLER
Siobhan Daiko
SIZE
3.7
MB

More Books Like This

City of the Sun City of the Sun
2014
A Distant Land A Distant Land
2012
The Air Raid Girls The Air Raid Girls
2021
Consecrated Dust: A Novel of the Civil War North Consecrated Dust: A Novel of the Civil War North
2012
The Lotus Eaters The Lotus Eaters
2010
Betrayed in Brighton Betrayed in Brighton
2017

More Books by Siobhan Daiko

The Girl from Portofino The Girl from Portofino
2023
The Tuscan Orphan The Tuscan Orphan
2023
The Girl from Venice The Girl from Venice
2023
Fragrant Haven Fragrant Haven
2015
The Orchid Tree The Orchid Tree
2015
The Girl from Bologna The Girl from Bologna
2023

Customers Also Bought

Her Father's Daughter Her Father's Daughter
2023
Lady Margaret's Future Lady Margaret's Future
2021
The Nun The Nun
2011
Lady Margaret's Challenge Lady Margaret's Challenge
2020
A Mother's War A Mother's War
2023
Shadow of the Taj Shadow of the Taj
2021

Other Books in This Series